Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
English Translations of Patristic Texts, Lexica, and Backgrounds
Ancient World Digital Library
AWDL will identify, collect, curate, and provide access to the broadest possible range of scholarly materials relevant to the study of the ancient world. Find and download PDFs of particular books in NYU's Institute for the Study of the Ancient World library.
Bibliaclerus is a useful tool for finding patristic commentary on particular biblical texts. It can be accessed via web browser or downloaded as a whole to your personal computer.
BiblIndex is a powerful database for finding patristic quotations and commentary on biblical texts.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library
The CCEL is a wide library of Christian classics (including patristic texts) in English.
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
Early Christian Writings
A collection of translations and resources for early Christian writings, including canonical, apocryphal, gnostic, and patristic works.
Early Church Fathers
Open-access electronic version of the Early Church Fathers Series.
Database of Quotations of the Pauline Epistles
Quotations of Paul in ancient Greek and Latin authors (up to the eighth century).
Mark Mattison's Gospels.net
Public domain translations of ancient gospels not included in the New Testament, including: GThomas, GMary; GJudas; GPhilip; GPeter; Egerton Pap. 2; the hypothetical document "Q."
Open Patrologia Graeca
A digital edition of the Patrologia Graeca, still in development.
Paul and Patristics Database
This database represents a comprehensive survey of Pauline references in pre-Nicene writings. It is searchable both by Pauline epistle and passage as well as by early Christian writers and their texts, by region, and by approximate date.
Electronic Resources for the Textual Tradition of the Epistles of Paul
This is the homepage for work towards new editions of the Epistles of Paul in Latin and Greek undertaken by the International Greek New Testament Project and its collaborators. It will provide a gateway to electronic transcriptions and other resources created during the course of the edition.
Tertullian.org: Early Church Fathers
Public-domain English translations of the Ante-Nicene, Nicene, and Post-Nicene Fathers. An alternative to the CCEL.
William Whitaker's Words
A simple English-Latin and Latin-English dictionary tool, useful for readings in Greco-Roman primary sources and patristics.
The Agade list forwards news and information of interest to scholars in biblical studies, Near Eastern studies, Late Antiquity, Judaica, Classics, archaeology, and even broad intellectual history. This is a great resource for staying up-to-date on developments in the field, but it is not itself a cite-able resource for most research projects.
We're always trying to improve this LibGuide! If you have an open-access Internet resource you think we should include here, please contact the Research Center and let us know!