Library Guides: Biblical Studies & Christian Origins: Other DU Resources

Ask Us!

The SBL Handbook of Style, 2nd Ed. by Society of Biblical Literature
ISBN: 9781589839656
Publication Date: 2014
The definitive source for how to write and publish in the field of biblical studies The long-awaited second edition of the essential style manual for writing and publishing in biblical studies and related fields includes key style changes, updated and expanded abbreviation and spelling-sample lists, a list of archaeological site names, material on qur'anic sources, detailed information on citing electronic sources, and expanded guidelines for the transliteration and transcription of seventeen ancient languages. A must-consult resource for writing and publishing in the field! SBLHS is the standard for most of the field. See also the SBLHSS Blog for tutorials, tips, and tricks!

Cambridge Companions This link opens in a new window
Features lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods. All are collections of specially commissioned essays, shaped and introduced to appeal to student readers.
Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics This link opens in a new window
Features advanced search options, as well as extensive cross-references and full-text search functionality using the Hebrew character set. With over 850 entries and approximately 400 contributing scholars, it is the authoritative reference work for students and researchers in the fields of Hebrew linguistics, general linguistics, Biblical studies, Hebrew and Jewish literature, and related fields.

The Context of Scripture (3 vols. - eBook)
The Context of Scripture illuminatingly presents the multi-faceted world of ancient writing that forms the colorful background to the literature of the Hebrew Bible. These volumes are searchable.
General Editor William W. Hallo. Associate Editor K. Lawson Younger, Jr.
Dead Sea Scrolls LibGuide
Working on something related to the DSS or Qumran? Have a look around our LibGuide devoted to this topic!

Religion Database This link opens in a new window
An indispensable resource for religious studies programs and for anyone researching religious issues and perspectives.

Cambridge Companions This link opens in a new window
Features lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods. All are collections of specially commissioned essays, shaped and introduced to appeal to student readers.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Provides Classical Greek and Latin texts alongside English translations.
Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new window
Contains 221 volumes and represents a complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865).
TLG Online This link opens in a new window
Thesaurus Linguae Graecea, or "Treasury of the Greek Language." This project now contains virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600 and the majority of surviving works up the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453.
Users must create an account before accessing full content.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
An indispensable resource for religious studies programs and for anyone researching religious issues and perspectives.

Email Me

Contact:

University of Denver Libraries

Subjects: Art & Art History, Asian Studies, Emergent Digital Practices, Grants, History (US), History (World), Judaic Studies, Language & Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy, Religious Studies