Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online, Open-Access Resources
We're always trying to improve this LibGuide! If you have an open-access Internet resource you think we should include here, please contact the Research Center and let us know!
Online Texts (Critical Texts and Translations)
Nestle-Aland 28 Novum Testamentum Graece Online
Need to quickly reference the text of the Greek NT but forgot your NA28 at home? Click-through to access the text on the German Bible Society's webpage. (Note: the critical apparatus is not available in the free online version.)
SBL Greek NT Reader
This mobile-responsive site hosts a digital edition of the Society of Biblical Literature Greek New Testament (edited by Michael W. Holmes). Users may use it to quickly and easily consult the Greek text. Users can click any Greek word to access the Abbott-Smith lexical definition. Additionally, a text-critical apparatus (comparable to NA28) is available by clicking on a given verse number.
Online Critical Pseudepigrapha
The mandate of the Online Critical Pseudepigrapha is to develop and publish electronic editions of the best critical texts of the "Old Testament" Pseudepigrapha and related literature.
Perseus Greco-Roman Texts (Master List)
Browse the open-access list of Greco-Roman texts offered by Perseus.
A powerful Bible browser tool from Tyndale House, useful for quick studies of Greek and Hebrew words.
Electronic Resources for the Textual Tradition of the Epistles of Paul
This is the homepage for work towards new editions of the Epistles of Paul in Latin and Greek undertaken by the International Greek New Testament Project and its collaborators. It will provide a gateway to electronic transcriptions and other resources created during the course of the edition.
Logeion - Greek & Latin Lexical Tool
A new, user-friendly, and mobile-responsive Greek & Latin lexical tool. Users can type in Latin, Greek, or semi-transliterated Greek (e.g., "skubalon" = σκύβαλον; "ptuw" = πτύω) to search the lexica.
Perseus Lexicon Search
Look up Greek words in some of the major Greek lexica. Search in Greek (unicode), Latin, or transliterated Greek (see input guide on main page).
William Whitaker's Words
A simple English-Latin and Latin-English dictionary tool, useful for readings in Greco-Roman primary sources and patristics.
Backgrounds and Topics
Ancient World Digital Library
AWDL will identify, collect, curate, and provide access to the broadest possible range of scholarly materials relevant to the study of the ancient world. Find and download PDFs of particular books in NYU's Institute for the Study of the Ancient World library.
Explore the fascinating origins of the Bible and its eventful history. On Bible Odyssey, the world’s leading scholars share the latest historical and literary research on key people, places, and passages of the Bible.
Mark Mattison's Gospels.net
Public domain translations of ancient gospels not included in the New Testament, including: GThomas, GMary; GJudas; GPhilip; GPeter; Egerton Pap. 2; the hypothetical document "Q."
The New Testament Gateway is a directory of academic internet resources on the New Testament, hosted by Logos Bible Software and edited by Mark Goodacre.
The Paul Page
The Paul Page is an expanding website dedicated to exploring recent trends in Pauline studies like "the new perspective on Paul" and "Paul and Empire."
The Perseus Catalog was conceived in 2005 as a way to integrate two complementary kinds of resources, bibliographies of authors and editions produced by and for classicists and metadata about Greek and Latin authors in more general library systems.
Tyndale Online Reading Rooms: Biblical Studies
These resource pages were designed to help make biblical-theological resources available to those without easy access to a theological library. TORR helpfully links to GoogleBook previews for important works in the field. As with all GoogleBook previews, though, the number of viewable pages is limited.
Paul and Patristics Database
This database represents a comprehensive survey of Pauline references in pre-Nicene writings. It is searchable both by Pauline epistle and passage as well as by early Christian writers and their texts, by region, and by approximate date.
Biblical Manuscripts, Textual Criticism, and Papyrology
Center for the Study of New Testament Manuscripts
The CSNTM website boasts an unparalleled list of high-resolution digital images of NT manuscripts.
Codex Sinaiticus (א 01) Online
The Codex Sinaiticus Project is an international collaboration to reunite the entire manuscript in digital form and make it accessible to a global audience for the first time. Drawing on the expertise of leading scholars, conservators and curators, the Project gives everyone the opportunity to connect directly with this famous manuscript.
Codex Alexandrinus (02 A) Online
Codex Alexandrinus is a 5th century pandect of the Septuagint and New Testament, made available online by the British Library.
Codex Vaticanus (03 B) Online
Newly digitized by the Vatican in 2015, Codex Vaticanus is a 4th century pandect of the Septuagint and New Testament.
Codex Ephraemi Rescriptus (04 C) Online
Browse high-quality images of Codex Ephraemi Rescriptus, courtesy of the Bibliothèque nationale de France.
Codex Bezae (05 D) Online
Codex Bezae, dated to the end of the fourth or the beginning of the fifth century, is a bilingual manuscript containing portions of the Gospels and Acts of the Apostles.
High quality images of some of the earliest fragments of New Testament papyri.
Early Manuscripts Electronic Library
The Early Manuscripts Electronic Library or EMEL uses digital technologies to make manuscripts and other historical source materials accessible for study and appreciation by scholars and the public. Especially useful for the study of palimpsests.
Greek Manuscripts at the British Library
The Greek manuscript collections at the British Library range from the 3rd century BCE to the early 20th century CE. Written on papyrus, parchment and paper, and produced in regions as diverse as Greece, Egypt, Asia Minor, Italy, France, and England, they reveal the enduring significance of Greek culture and learning over the centuries.
Explore some of the highlights of the British Library's collection items, read articles by leading experts on Greek manuscripts, discover themes running through the collections, and watch videos on key topics.
Leuven Database of Ancient Books
Use this search tool to find all kinds of information about ancient papyri or manuscripts. For example, if you know an item's LDAB number, you can use the "Quicksearch" function to find the item's approximate date, where it has been published, and in some cases, a direct URL to the papyrus or manuscript online. Other powerful options allow you to search by Author, Language, Manuscript Inventory, and more.
New Testament Virtual Manuscript Room
The New Testament Virtual Manuscript Room is a place where scholars can come to find the most exhaustive list of New Testament manuscript resources, can contribute to marking attributes about these manuscripts, and can find state of the art tools for researching this rich dataset.
POxy: Oxyrhynchus Online
A guide and online database for the Oxyrhynchus Papyri. Search papyri by number (e.g. "0854") or by P.Oxy. author, title, or editor.
Rodney Decker's NT Textual Criticism Resources
A collection of resources in NT textual criticism curated by the late Dr. Rodney Decker.