Skip to Main Content
width =

University of Denver

University Libraries

Research Guides

International Studies-Degree Programs: Global Finance, Trade and Economic Integration

This guide, created by Benjamin Applebee, Brett Schneider and Josh Patton, is broken into the 7 major degree programs. From International Security to Human Rights, this is your one-stop-shop for all matters Global. Last updated by CWA on 7/31/12.

Intro.

UN Official Documents System  

Provides searching and retrieval of bibliographic records and full text of major portions of UN documents. ODS covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. The documents and official records are stored in the official languages...​
IMF's World Economic Outlook
Though the entire website including the "survey" section are extremely useful do look at this "Economic Outlook" section. "The World Economic Outlook (WEO) presents the IMF staff's analysis and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups (classified by region, stage of development, etc.), and in many individual countries."

Next Level Stuff

United Nations Comtrade Database  

This United Nations data gathering endeavor includes data from over 140 countries. With over 1.1 billion data records, it is the largest repository of its kind available on the Internet. Trade data is displayed by partner country and by commodity.
Country, Economy and Regional Information (Australia Dept. of Foreign Affairs and Trade)  
These pages include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of almost 240 countries and economies.
International Financial Statistics Yearbook  
Online, Reference Stacks, & Hampden Center
HG3879 .I572
Provides annual data, including national accounts, going back 30 years.
International Financial Statistics  
Online & Hampden Center
HG3879 .I57
This is a monthly publication that updates the International Financial Statistics Annual. Use this for more recent data

Trade Websites

  • International Trade Administration, Office of Trade Policy and Analysis
    The Office of Trade Policy & Analysis (TP&A), an office of Industry & Analysis within the International Trade Administration, provides data, analysis, and recommendations on policy, and trade promotion issues affecting U.S. industry competitiveness in a global setting.
  • Foreign Trade
    "FOREIGN TRADE is the official source for U.S. export and import statistics and responsible for issuing regulations governing the reporting of all export shipments from the United States."
  • Interactive Tariff and Trade Dataweb
    "U.S. import statistics, U.S. export statistics, U.S. tariffs, U.S. future tariffs and U.S. tariff preference information are available on a self-service, interactive basis." Free individual registration required for access.
  • TradeStats Express
    Web tool for accessing U.S. merchandise trade statistics at both the national and state levels.
  • Foreign Trade Highlights
    "U.S. Foreign Trade Highlights web site provides data on U.S. international trade in goods and services. Emphasis is on goods trade: aggregate exports and imports, U.S. commodity and country/regional trade balances, and shifts in the commodity composition of U.S. exports and imports with major trading partners and regions."
  • U.S. International Trade Statistics
    "Exports and imports by Standard International Trade Classification (SITC). Updated monthly.

Blogs and Other Websites

Triple Crisis: Global Perspectives on Finance, Development and Environment

"The world is experiencing three simultaneous crises in finance, development, and the environment.  A number of economists are questioning the mainstream narratives and analyses of these crises.  Some of us have joined to create the Triple Crisis Blog to contribute to a more open and global dialogue around these three crises."

Project Syndicate: A World of Ideas

"Project Syndicate brings original, engaging, and thought-provoking commentaries by esteemed leaders and thinkers from around the world to readers everywhere."

Dani Rodrik's WebBlog: Unconventional Thoughts on Economic Development and Globalization 

Author and Rafiq Hariri Professor of International Political Economy Harvard Kennedy School, this incisive blog elucidates several pressing and relevant international issues.

Peterson Institute for International Economics

"The Peter G. Peterson Institute for International Economics is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research institution devoted to the study of international economic policy."

CEPR: Center for Economic and Policy Research

"The Center for Economic and Policy Research (CEPR) was established in 1999 to promote democratic debate on the most important economic and social issues that affect people's lives."

United Nations University: World Institute for Development Economics Research

"The United Nations University World Institute for Development Economics Research (UNU‐WIDER) was established in 1985. The institute undertakes multidisciplinary research and policy analysis on structural changes affecting the living conditions of the world’s poorest people; provides a forum for professional interaction and the advocacy of policies leading to robust, equitable, and environmentally sustainable growth; and promotes capacity strengthening and training for scholars and government officials in the fields of economic and social policy making."

United Nations Industrial Development Organization

"UNIDO is the specialized agency of the United Nations that promotes industrial development for poverty reduction, inclusive globalization and environmental sustainability"

UNCTAD: United Nations Conference on Trade and Development 

"Established in 1964, UNCTAD promotes the development-friendly integration of developing countries into the world economy."

IWREC: European Financial Review

"The European Financial Review is the leading business intelligence magazine read widely by financial experts and the wider business community. It is designed to ensure you make informed decisions that enhance your finances, your business and your lifestyle."

Research Center

Profile Photo
Research Center Desk
Contact:
Visit our "Make an Appointment" page to schedule a research consultation with a reference librarian.

You can also get in touch with the Research Center Desk during our operating hours at (303) 871-2905.

Get Help from your International Studies Liaison!

Profile Photo
Christopher C. Brown
Contact:
University Libraries

University of Denver

(303) 871-3404