Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the links below to search for electronic and print books available at DU in the Library Catalog or at other libraries via Prospector and Worldcat.
The University Libraries collection is classified using the Library of Congress Subject Headings, a “controlled vocabulary.” By using these standardized terms, you’ll find precise resources for your topic no matter what terminology the author may have used. By simply copying a subject heading into the search tool of the University Libraries database, students will generate a list of potentially helpful resources.
Ira J. Taylor Library at The Iliff School of Theology
DU students are encouraged to visit the Taylor Library at The Iliff School of Theology to take advantage of the many resources related to the Religions Studies and Islamic Studies available there. Iliff and DU have a cooperative relationship, allowing for students of either institution to borrow from the other's library.
The world's largest bibliographic database presents bibliographic records for books, serials (journals), and all other formats. Use WorldCat to find materials not in University Libraries or Prospector.
A unified catalog of many Colorado area libraries. Books held by the libraries can be requested via Prospector and are delivered to the Main Library at the Anderson Academic Commons in 3 to 5 days. Colorado Legislative Council reports not cataloged in the library catalog can be identified by using Prospector.
Select Books in Environmental Justice
A Dictionary of Environmental Economics, Science, and Policy by
Call Number: HC79.E5 G685 2001
A short entry dictionary style resource defining environmental economics, science, and policy terms. Also included are an annotated reference list and three essays: “Economics for the Environment,” “International Environmental Problems,” and “Environmental Systems, Dynamics and Modeling.”
Sustainable Communities and the Challenge of Environmental Justice by
Call Number: GE220 .A34 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Popularized in the movies Erin Brockovich and A Civil Action, “environmental justice” refers to any local response to a threat against community health. In this book, Julian Agyeman argues that environmental justice and the sustainable communities movement are compatible in practical ways. Yet sustainability, which focuses on meeting our needs today while not compromising the ability of our successors to meet their needs, has not always partnered with the challenges of environmental justice. Sustainable Communities and the Challenge of Environmental Justice explores the ideological differences between these two groups and shows how they can work together. Agyeman provides concrete examples of potential model organizations that employ the types of strategies he advocates. This book is vital to the efforts of community organizers, policymakers, and everyone interested in a better environment and community health.
The Rise of the American Conservation Movement by
Publication Date: 2016
In this sweeping social history Dorceta E. Taylor examines the emergence and rise of the multifaceted U.S. conservation movement from the mid-nineteenth to the early twentieth century. She shows how race, class, and gender influenced every aspect of the movement, including the establishment of parks; campaigns to protect wild game, birds, and fish; forest conservation; outdoor recreation; and the movement's links to nineteenth-century ideologies. Initially led by white urban elites--whose early efforts discriminated against the lower class and were often tied up with slavery and the appropriation of Native lands--the movement benefited from contributions to policy making, knowledge about the environment, and activism by the poor and working class, people of color, women, and Native Americans. Far-ranging and nuanced, The Rise of the American Conservation Movement comprehensively documents the movement's competing motivations, conflicts, problematic practices, and achievements in new ways.
Toxic Communities by
Publication Date: 2014
From St. Louis to New Orleans, from Baltimore to Oklahoma City, there are poor and minority neighborhoods so beset by pollution that just living in them can be hazardous to your health. Due to entrenched segregation, zoning ordinances that privilege wealthier communities, or because businesses have found the OCypaths of least resistance, OCO there are many hazardous waste and toxic facilities in these communities, leading residents to experience health and wellness problems on top of the race and class discrimination most already experience. Taking stock of the recent environmental justice scholarship, a Toxic Communities aexamines the connections among residential segregation, zoning, and exposure to environmental hazards. Renowned environmental sociologist Dorceta Taylor focuses on the locations of hazardous facilities in low-income and minority communities and shows how they have been dumped on, contaminated and exposed. Drawing on an array of historical and contemporary case studies from across the country, Taylor explores controversies over racially-motivated decisions in zoning laws, eminent domain, government regulation (or lack thereof), and urban renewal. She provides a comprehensive overview of the debate over whether or not there is a link between environmental transgressions and discrimination, drawing a clear picture of the state of the environmental justice field today and where it is going. In doing so, she introduces new concepts and theories for understanding environmental racism that will be essential for environmental justice scholars. A fascinating landmark study, a Toxic Communities agreatly contributes to the study of race, the environment, and space in the contemporary United States."
Need help? Contact the Science & Engineering Librarian