Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Guide: Right to Health (2013-2014)
This page features research materials and advice for the human right to health, which was the 2013-2014 year theme, and includes an annotated bibliography, links to organizations, and digital media.
Bioethics and the Human Goods: an Introduction to Natural Law Bioethics. by
Call Number: QH332 .G65 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Bioethics and the Human Goods offers students and general readers a brief introduction to bioethics from a "natural law" philosophical perspective. This perspective, which traces its origins to classical antiquity, has profoundly shaped Western ethics and law and is enjoying an exciting renaissance. While compatible with much in the ethical thought of the great religions, it is grounded in reason, not religion. In contrast to the currently dominant bioethical theories of utilitarianism and principlism, the natural law approach offers an understanding of human flourishing grounded in basic human goods, including life, health, friendship, and knowledge, and in the wrongness of intentionally turning against, or neglecting, these goods. The book is divided into two sections: Foundations and Issues. Foundations sketches a natural law understanding of the important ethical principles of autonomy, non-maleficence, beneficence, and justice and explores different understandings of "personhood" and whether human embryos are persons. Issues applies a natural law perspective to some of the most controversial debates in contemporary bioethics at the beginning and end of life: research on human embryos, abortion, infanticide, euthanasia, the withdrawal of tube-feeding from patients in a "persistent vegetative state," and the definition of death. The text is completed by appendices featuring personal statements by Alfonso Gómez-Lobo on the status of the human embryo and on the definition and determination of death.
Global Health: Why Cultural Perceptions, Social Representations, and Biopolitics Matter. by
Call Number: RA441 .N53 2008
Publication Date: 2008
In this lesson-packed book, Mark Nichter, one of the world’s leading medical anthropologists, summarizes what more than a quarter-century of health social science research has contributed to international health and elucidates what social science research can contribute to global health and the study of biopolitics in the future. Nichter focuses on our cultural understanding of infectious and vector-borne diseases, how they are understood locally, and how various populations respond to public health interventions. The book examines the perceptions of three groups whose points of view on illness, health care, and the politics of responsibility often differ and frequently conflict: local populations living in developing countries, public health practitioners working in international health, and health planners/policy makers. The book is written for both health social scientists working in the fields of international health and development and public health practitioners interested in learning practical lessons they can put to good use when engaging communities in participatory problem solving. Global Health critically examines representations that frame international health discourse. It also addresses the politics of what is possible in a world compelled to work together to face emerging and re-emerging diseases, the control of health threats associated with political ecology and defective modernization, and the rise of new assemblages of people who share a sense of biosociality. The book proposes research priorities for a new program of health social science research. Nichter calls for greater involvement by social scientists in studies of global health and emphasizes how medical anthropologists in particular can better involve themselves as scholar activists.
Hidden Lives and Human Rights in the United States: Understanding the Controversies and Tragedies of Undocumented Immigration. by
Call Number: JV6465 .H54 2014
Publication Date: 2014
The most comprehensive collection of essays on undocumented immigration to date, covering issues not generally found anywhere else on the subject. Three fascinating volumes feature the latest research from the country's top immigration scholars. * Discusses topics rarely covered, including sexual migration, religion, values, and mental health * Features essays across disciplines in the fields of psychology, law, politics, social work, public policy, history, education, and health * Includes tables, maps, photos, and a bibliography for each volume to provide visual interest and additional learning opportunities * Probes the latest controversies centered on recent immigration legislation in Arizona, Georgia, and Alabama * Familiarizes readers with history, theories, and legislation related to undocumented migration in the United States
Peace Through Health by
Call Number: COHRE Library
Publication Date: 2008-05-01
The idea of working for peace through the health sector has sparked many innovative programmes, described here by over 30 experts familiar with the theory and practice of peace through health. The topics covered in this work include prevention and therapy, medical ethics, activism, medical journals, human rights, and much more.
Gender-Based Violence: Perspectives from Africa, the Middle East, and India. by
Call Number: Online & HV6626.23.A35 G46 2015
This book offers new perspectives on gender-based violence in three regions where the subject has been taboo in everyday discourse often due to patriarchal cultural norms that limit women's autonomy. The contributions to this book provide rare insight into not only the levels and the socio-demographic determinants of domestic violence, but topics ranging from men's attitudes toward wife beating; domestic violence-related adolescent deaths, and women's health problems due to sexual and physical abuse. With a comprehensive introduction that provides a comparative international research framework for discussing gender-based violence in these three unique regions, this volume provides a key basis for understanding gender-based violence on a more global level. Part I, on Africa, covers men's attitudes towards domestic violence, the impact of poverty and fertility, the association between adolescent deaths and domestic violence, and the link between domestic abuse and HIV. Part II, on the Middle East, covers the importance of consanguinity on domestic violence in Egypt and Jordan, the effects of physical abuse on reproductive health, and the link between political unrests and women's experience and attitudes towards domestic violence. Part III, on India, shows how sexual abuse puts women at risk of reproductive tract infections and sexually transmitted infections, as well as the role of gender norms in wife abuse and the role of youth aggressive behavior in nonconsensual sex. With such a deep and broad coverage of factors of intimate partner abuse, this book serves as a reference document for researchers, decision-makers, and organizations that are searching for ways to reduce gender-based domestic violence. This book is of interest for researchers in Criminology and Criminal Justice, as well as Sociology, Social Work, Public Health and Human Rights.
World Health Organization (WHO)
With headquarters based in Geneva, Switzerland, the World Health Organization is a prestigious global public health organization established as a subsidiary of the United Nations in 1948.
Partners In Health (PIH)
Founded by Dr. Paul Farmer, Partners In Health is a large non-profit organization delivering health care to the world's poorest people.