Before submitting a request to add images to the Institutional Collections or adding images to your Personal Collections, be sure to search the University of Denver Institutional Collections first. There are nearly 155k high-quality still images available. You also have access to all the still images, gifs, and videos available in the Artstor and Public Collections.
You can add images to the Institutional Collections by contacting the Visual Media Center (VMC) in the School of Art & Art History. The VMC provides digital images to DU faculty and students for teaching, learning, and research. The VMC is located in Shwayder Art Building (SAB), in Room 122. Anyone in the DU community can request to have still images made from print material, 35mm slides, or other sources. There is usually a two-week turn-around time on requests of 25 images or fewer. On-site staffing is limited due to COVID-19 so requests may take longer than usual to process. Visit the VMC Portfolio page for more information.
Artstor Personal Collections will only accept jpegs. To upload and share videos, visit DU’s video management site. For audio files, sharing on Canvas is recommended.
You can add images to your personal collection in Artstor, and then use Groups to share or export them for use in courses. You can also share individual images with a link.
To add images to your personal collection:
Login to your Artstor account.
Go to Organize in the menu near the top of the page. From the drop down, select Upload Images to Personal Collection. 
In the box that opens, you can drag your JPEGs or browse for files on your computer. You can add multiple files at once.
You’ll then have the option to add metadata for the images. If you choose not to add metadata while uploading, you can do so later.
When adding metadata, please follow the guidelines provided in this guide.
After you hit done, there may be a 30-minute delay before you can access the uploaded files in your Artstor Personal Collection.
Artstor Collections - Artstor Collections are collections that have been added or curated by various institutions who subscribe to Artstor. They are the Institutional Collections form other institutions that those institutions have chosen to make available to all registered Artstor users. DU currently is not making any of our Institutional Collections public, but we expect to do so in the future. As a registered user, you can utilize the images in Artstor Collections as you would any other images in Artstor – you can add them to groups and have all the same functions in groups that DU institutional images would have.
Institutional Collections - Institutional Collections are those that have been added by University of Denver as whole collections. These do not include the Personal collections of DU users. The DU Institutional Collections can be either unit-specific or content specific.
Public Collections - Public Collections are accessible for all. You do not need to be logged in to access the files in public collections. However, you will not have the full functionality of using the images if you are not logged in.
Personal Collections - Your Personal Collection are where the images you upload are stored. The uploaded images can be cataloged, added to groups, exported, and cited. You can also search your Personal Collections, and remove or delete files when they are no longer needed. Other Artstor users cannot see in the images in your personal collection until you place them in a group, and then share that group with others.
More about Personal Collections
Groups – Groups are a saved selection of items. Groups can be edited, tagged, have a description added, shared with others, and downloaded. A group can contain up to 1,000 items, and as a registered Artstor user, you can have multiple groups.
Groups can be
Shared via a stable URL - this URL can be shared with non-Artstor users. You can also embed the URL in Canvas.
Start by doing a search in Artstor, or browsing existing collections.
Use the checkbox function at the upper right of each image to select items for a group. Or go to the Organize menu and choose “Select All on page” to select all.
Go to the Organize Menu and choose Save selections to new group.
Enter a title for the group, and choose if the group should be private to you, or should it be shared with other DU Artstor users. If you choose to share with institution, make the sure group title is one others will understand. Hit Create.
You’ll now find this new group by going to Browse—Groups. You can choose to view Private Groups only, or those shared at the Institutional level. Your own shared groups will show up in both places.
To add items to an existing group, make your selections, then go to Organize—Save selections to existing group. Note you can only add items to groups you create – you cannot add items to groups that have been created by others.
