Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Artstor - Using Images and Managing Collections at DU

Guide to using Artstor as a image collection management tool for faculty and students at DU

What is Artstor?

“Artstor is a not-for-profit organization committed to enhancing scholarship and teaching through the use of digital images and media. The Artstor Digital Library includes millions of high-quality images for education and research across disciplines from a wide variety of contributors around the world.” -- Artstor website

Read More About Artstor 

Who can use Artstor?

 Anyone in the DU community can use Artstor!

If you have an 87-number, you can access Artstor via the University Libraries or the VPN.

How do I access Artstor?

 Access Artstor via the University Libraries. You will need to use your PioneerWeb login credentials, as you would use for other DU databases that use the proxy login. If you use DU’s Virtual Private Network, you may go directly to the Artstor Digital Library

 

To utilize many of the functions presented in this guide, and to access DU Institutional Collections, you will need to register for a personal account, in addition to accessing Artstor via the University Libraries. See the Getting Started in Artstor tab of this guide for additional information.

 

 

What is in Artstor?

The Artstor Digital Library features a wide range of multidisciplinary content from some of the world’s top museums, artists, libraries, scholars, and photo archives, including rare collections not accessible anywhere else. New contributions are added regularly.

Artstor’s ever-growing Public Collections offer approximately 1.3 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials, as well as hundreds of thousands of open access images from partner museums. Anyone may view and download these collections; no subscription or login required.

 

Read more on what's in Artstor: 

Artstor Core Collections 

Artstor Public Collections