Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Artstor - Using Images and Managing Collections at DU

Guide to using Artstor as a image collection management tool for faculty and students at DU

Creating an Account

To utilize personal and DU institutional Collections in Artstor, you’ll need to create an Artstor account. This will be an additional login process, after accessing Artstor via the proxy login that is used for most databases provided by the Libraries. If you use DU’s Virtual Private Network, you may go directly to the Artstor Digital Library

 

  1. Access Artstor via the University Libraries. You will need to use your PioneerWeb login credentials, as you would use for other DU databases that use the proxy login. 

  2. In the upper right corner of the Artstor landing page, select “Register” 
    Screenshot of Artstor Registration button

  3. When completing the registration form on the next page, be sure to use your DU email. This will ensure you have access to the DU institutional collections. 

 

Once you have created an Artstor user account, you can access the Digital Library without connecting to your institution's network by logging in to your account remotely. As a security measure, this remote access is set to expire after 120 days, but it can be re-set. If you receive a message that your 120-day remote access period is expired, you can re-set the 120-day countdown by logging in either on-site at your institution or through a proxy. *Artstor remote access usually last 120-days, but for the duration of the COVID-19 crisis, Artstor is extending this feature to last 365-days. In addition, public libraries are eligible to register users for remote Artstor access. 

Navigating Artstor

Artstor offers excellent instructions on searching and navigating Artstor.

Artstor Support - Searching

Adding Images to Artstor

Before submitting a request to add images to the Institutional Collections or adding images to your Personal Collections, be sure to search the University of Denver Institutional Collections first. There are nearly 155k high-quality still images available. You also have access to all the still images, gifs, and videos available in the Artstor and Public Collections.  

 

You can add images to the Institutional Collections by contacting the Visual Media Center (VMC) in the School of Art & Art History. The VMC provides digital images to DU faculty and students for teaching, learning, and research. The VMC is located in Shwayder Art Building (SAB), in Room 122. Anyone in the DU community can request to have still images made from print material, 35mm slides, or other sources. There is usually a two-week turn-around time on requests of 25 images or fewer. On-site staffing is limited due to COVID-19 so requests may take longer than usual to process. Visit the VMC Portfolio page for more information. 

Artstor Personal Collections will only accept jpegs. To upload and share videos, visit DU’s video management site. For audio files, sharing on Canvas is recommended. 

You can add images to your personal collection in Artstor, and then use Groups to share or export them for use in courses. You can also share individual images with a link. 

To add images to your personal collection:

  1. Login to your Artstor account. 

  2. Go to Organize in the menu near the top of the page. From the drop down, select Upload Images to Personal Collection. Artstor Screenshot of the Organize Menu  - Upload Images

  3. In the box that opens, you can drag your JPEGs or browse for files on your computer. You can add multiple files at once.  

  4. You’ll then have the option to add metadata for the images. If you choose not to add metadata while uploading, you can do so later. 

  5. When adding metadata, please follow the guidelines provided in this guide. 

  6. After you hit done, there may be a 30-minute delay before you can access the uploaded files in your Artstor Personal Collection.  

Additional Artstor Support

Got questions that are not answered here? Visit the Artstor Support website to find more information on how to use Artstor. For questions not answered by the Artstor Support site, or for questions that are specific to your work at DU, please reach out to the appropriate contact listed in the Contact Us box on the left.