Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is Ethnomusicology?
For hundreds of years, the music of other cultures has been of interest. It was not until the 1950s, however, that the discipline of ethnomusicology was established. Thanks to developments in technology in the twentieth century which allowed researchers to record music and produce what is referred to as field recordings, music outside of a people's culture was able to be studied more thoroughly. While dynamic with regard to its definition, ethnomusicology embraces the study of music around the world - its function and structure across the world’s cultures.
This Guide's Purpose
This guide is designed to be a practical tool for you to discover a number of resources connected with ethnomusicology, like books (both print and e-books), music, databases, and websites.
Some Basic References Sources
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Call Number: Music Library Ref. ML199 G16 1998
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music is the first comprehensive resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.
Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th Ed. by
Call Number: Music Library Ref ML102.P66 G84 2006
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music is the largest project ever undertaken for the subject. This authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists covers popular music from 1900 to the present, including folk, blues, world music, rock, heavy metal, techno, reggae, and hip hop.
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World 2 vols. by
Call Number: ML102.P66 C66 2003
The first comprehensive reference work on popular music of the world Contributors are the world's leading popular music scholars Includes extensive bibliographies, discographies, sheet music listings and filmographies.
Part 1: Social and Cultural Dimensions, covering the social phenomena of relevance to the practice of popular music. Part II: The Industry, covers all aspects of the popular music such as copyright, instrumental manufacture, management and marketing, record corporations, studios, companies, and labels.