Skip to Main Content
width =

University of Denver

University Libraries

Research Guides

Theatre

Browse our best resources, organized by subject

Showing 6 Guides

Dec 9, 2022 12
Dance - Tango
Jul 20, 2023 31
Dance Resources
Aug 15, 2024 15
Theatre

Showing 25 Databases

Additional Databases
  • Iliff users may access
  • DU Main users may access
  • Law users may access
American Film Institute Catalog
A national filmography documenting the history of American cinema. Cataloging currently covers the years 1893-1974 comprehensively, with additional records covering selected major films from 1975 onward.
  • Iliff users may access
  • DU Main users may access
  • Law users may access
Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest)
Part of ProQuest Central, this resource contains information about the visual and applied arts. Subject strengths include design, classical studies, anthropology, architecture, history, languages and literatures, and cultural studies.
  • DU Main users may access
  • Law users may access
BroadwayHD
Founded by Broadway producers Stewart F. Lane and Bonnie Comley, BroadwayHD seeks to promote and preserve live theatre, extending the reach of Broadway and Broadway-caliber shows.
  • DU Main users may access
  • Law users may access
Eighteenth Century Drama
Explore how the Larpent plays reflect the politics of the time, the role of women, views on race and religion, opinions on empire, and European and British history.
  • DU Main users may access
  • Law users may access
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online
Provides an interlinked collection of authoritative Oxford University Press scholarly editions of major works from the humanities. OSEO offers access to more than 550 scholarly editions of material written between 1485 and 1830, including all of Shakespeare’s plays, the poetry of John Donne, and works by John Milton and John Locke.
  • Freely Available
Playbill Vault
Playbill Vault offers an index of Broadway and off-Broadway productions for each theatre season back to the mid Nineteenth Century, and full cast and crew of each production listed back to the early Twentieth Century. It also includes a searchable archive of articles appearing in monthly issues of Playbill over the years.
  • DU Main users may access
  • Law users may access
Routledge Performance Archive
Online collection of audio-visual material from past and present practitioners of performance. The archive consists of a regularly updated collection of streamed video and audio footage with relevant critical commentary.
  • DU Main users may access
  • Law users may access
Royal Shakespeare Company (RSC) Live (Drama Online)
Videos of performances by the Royal Shakespeare Company.
  • DU Main users may access
  • Law users may access
New
Royal Shakespeare Company Archives: From Playwrights to Performance, 1889-2013

Royal Shakespeare Company Archives provides a comprehensive record of the performance history of the Royal Shakespeare Company and its predecessor, the Shakespeare Memorial Theatre. Browse and compare almost 1,400 prompt books to uncover how productions took shape, and explore the creative process behind the company's most important presentations in extensive additional documentation including production records, costume designs, music files and photographs.

  • DU Main users may access
  • Law users may access
Shakespeare in Performance
Features prompt books from the Folder Shakespeare Library for performances of Shakespeare’s plays between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries, and supporting material for 17 selected plays. Documents are indexed by genre, country (including Great Britain and the United States), theatre, associated names, and other key search terms. Handwritten notes, sketches, and cues can be found.
  • DU Main users may access
  • Law users may access
New
Shakespeare's Globe Archive: Theatres, Players & Performance

This collection of documents offers insights into the performance practice in the particular space of the reconstructed Globe Theatre. It details the way in which the theatre was constructed as a place of radical experiment. It documents over 200 performances through prompt books, wardrobe notes, programs, publicity material, annual reports, show reports, photographs and architectural plans.

  • DU Main users may access
  • Law users may access
Shakespeare's Globe on Screen (2008-2015) (Drama Online)
Videos of Globe on Screen's performances from 2008-2015.
  • DU Main users may access
  • Law users may access
Shakespeare's Globe on Screen 2 (2016-2018) (Drama Online)
Videos of Globe on Screen's performances from 2016-2018.
  • DU Main users may access
  • Law users may access
Springer Ebooks
Contains e-books in numerous subject areas.
  • DU Main users may access
  • Law users may access
Web of Science Core Collection (WOS)
Provides multidisciplinary coverage of high-impact scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited References Search to find articles that cite an author or work -- this allows you to track citations forward in time. Content dates from 1900 - present. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index.

No blog posts have been assigned to this subject.

Search

Search the full text of this site. Results will link to pages containing your terms; results from subject page searches are automatically filtered by that subject.

Theatre Experts

Librarian

Profile Photo
Woody Colahan
Contact:
303.871.6427
title
Loading...