Chapter 2: General Literary Reference Resources

General Literature Bibliographies

• ABELL
• JSTOR
• MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles of the Modern Languages and Literatures 
• Periodicals Archive Online
• Project MUSE

General American Literature Titles

• African American Review
• American Literary History
• American Literature: A Journal of Literary History, Criticism, and Bibliography
• Journal of Narrative Theory
• PMLA: Publications of the Modern Language Association of America
• Resources for American Literary Study
• Southern Literary Journal
• Studies in American Fiction
• Studies in American Indian Literatures
• Texas Studies in Literature and Language

The Eighteenth Century

• Early American Literature
• Eighteenth Century Fiction
• Eighteenth Century Life
• The Eighteenth Century Novel
• Eighteenth Century Studies

The Nineteenth Century

• Nineteenth Century Contexts
• Nineteenth Century Literature
• Nineteenth Century Studies
• Nineteenth Century Theatre and Film

Author Journals

• The Emily Dickinson Journal
• Walt Whitman Quarterly Review

Other Nonliterary Journals

• American Indian Culture and Research Journal
• Early American Studies: An Interdisciplinary Journal
• 49th Parallel: An Interdisciplinary Journal of North American Studies
• The Journal of American Culture
• Journal of American Folklore
• Journal of American Studies
• Journal of Early Republic 
• Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society: A Journal of American History and Culture through 1876
• The Southern Quarterly: A Journal of Arts in the South
• The William and Mary Quarterly: A Magazine of Early American History and Culture

Digital Newspaper Archives

• African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century
• America's Historical Newspapers
• Godey's Lady Book
• Historical Newspapers
• 19th Century American Newspapers
• The Pennsylvania Gazette

Locating Microform and Digital Resources

• A Guide to the Microform Collections in the Humanities and Social Sciences Division of the Library of Congress
• RLG
• World Cat

Selected Collections

• African American Poetry
• American Broadsides and Ephemera
• American Poetry
• Black Drama
• Black Thought and Culture
• Early American Fiction 1789-1875
• Early American Imprints, Series 1 & 2
• Early Encounters in North America
• Eighteenth Century Collections Online
• North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
• North American Theatre Online
• North American Women's Letters and Diaries
• Wright American Fiction Project

Websites for Location Archives and Manuscript Collections

• Repositories of Primary Sources
• ArchiveGrid
• Archives USA
• Library of Congress
• National Union Catalog for Manuscripts
• National Union Catalog for Manuscripts (OCLC WorldCat search gateway)

Scholarly Portals

• American Literature Sites
• American Literature on the Web
• Voice of the Shuttle
• Literary Resources on the Net
• American Authors on the Web

Electronic Text Archives

• The Making of America
• Project Gutenberg
• African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
• American Verse Project
• Making of America
• American Studies Hypertexts
• Electronic Text Center

Author Sites

• The Classroom Electric
• The Walt Whitman Archive
• The Thoreau Reader
• Transcendentalists.com
• Ralph Waldo Emerson
• Henry David Thoreau
• Dickinson Electronic Archives
• An Education on the Education of Henry Adams
• The Charles Brockden Brown Electronic Archive and Scholarly Edition

Contemporary Newspapers and Journals

• The Making of America
• Secession Era Editorials Projects
• Making of America

Current Awareness Resources

• Calls for Papers in English and American Literature
• Emily Dickinson International Society
• James Fenimore Cooper Society
• Society for the Study of American Women Writers
• Society of Early Americanists

Reference Tools

• Moby Dick
• A Concordance to the Essays of Ralph Waldo Emerson at the University of Colorado Center for Computer Research in the Humanities
• Reference Sources for Literatures in English
• Hyper-Concordance
• American Studies Links
• Literature Links for American Studies
• Outline of American Literature, revised edition

Cultural and Historical Resources

• American Studies Web
• Introductory Guide to Critical Theory
• The Circus in America
• American Memory
• Early Americas Digital Archive
• Library and Archival Exhibitions on the Web
• Dime Novels and Penny Dreadfuls

Volume Description, Reviews, and About the Authors