Chapter 2: General Literary Reference Sources

Chapter 3: Library Catalogs

Chapter 4: Print and Electronic Bibliographies, Indexes, and Annual Reviews

Chapter 5: Scholarly Journals

Chapter 6: Literary Reviews

Chapter 7: Magazines and Newspapers

Chapter 8: Microform and Digital Collections

Chapter 9: Manuscripts and Archives

Chapter 10: Web Resources

Research Guides:

• James L. Harner Literary Research Guide
• Reference Guide to Africa
• A Reference Guide for English Studies
• Africa: A Guide to Reference Material

General Postcolonial Literatures in English: Encyclopedias and Guides:

• Encyclopedia of Post-colonial Literatures In English
• The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English
• The Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English
• Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century
• The Oxford Companion to Twentieth Century Literature in English

Literary Histories:

• A History of Literature in the Caribbean
• European-language Writing in Sub-Saharan Africa
• The Cambridge History of African and Caribbean Literature
• Literature of Africa
• A History of Indian Literature in English
• A History of Twentieth-Century African Literatures

African Literatures in English: Encyclopedias and Companions:

• ​The Columbia Guide to South African Literature in English Since 1945
• The Columbia Guide to East African Literature in English Since 1945
• Encyclopedia of African Literature
• Student Encyclopedia of African Literature
• The Companion to African Literatures
• World Literature and Its Times: African Literature and Its Times
• The Columbia Guide to West African Literature in English Since 1945
• The Columbia Guide to Central African Literature in English Since 1945

Caribbean Literatures in English: Encyclopedias and Companions:

• Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900–2003
• The Routledge Companion to Anglophone Caribbean Literature
• Encyclopedia of Caribbean Literature

South Asian Literatures in English: Encyclopedias and Companions:

• Handbook of Twentieth-Century Literatures of India
• South Asian Literature in English

Biographical Sources:

• Modern South Asian Literature in English
• African Writers
• Fifty Caribbean Writers: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook
• Dictionary of Literary Biography
• Caribbean Writers: A Bio-Bibliographical-Critical Encyclopedia
• A-Z of African Writers
• Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
• Writers of the Indian Diaspora: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook
• Literature of the Caribbean
• Postcolonial African Writers: A Bio-Bibliographical-Critical Sourcebook
• World Writers in English

Chronologies:

• Timetables of World Literature
• Chronology of World History

Genre-Specific Sources:

• A Reader's Companion to the Short Story in English
• The Oxford Companion to Twentieth Century Poetry in English
• The Cambridge Companion to the African Novel
• Cambridge Guide to Fiction in English
• A Companion to Twentieth-Century Poetry
• Anglophone Caribbean Poetry, 1970-2001: An Annotated Bibliography

Author-Specific Sources:

• The Chinua Achebe Encyclopedia
• The Cambridge Companion to Salman Rushdie
• Jamaica Kincaid: A Critical Companion

Union Catalogs:

• Center for Research Libraries
• COPAC
• Jamaica Union Catalogue
• OAIster
• South Asia Union Catalogue
• WorldCat
• WorldCat.org

National Libraries:

• British Library
• Index Translationum
• World Guide to Libraries
• Library of Congress
• National Library of India
• National Library of Jamaica
• National Library of South Africa

General Literary Bibliographies, Indexes, and Annual Reviews:

• ABELL
• MLA Directory of Periodicals
• MLA International Bibliography
• The Year's Work in Critical and Cultural Theory
• The Year's Work in English Studies

Postcolonial Literature, Multiple Areas:

• Annual Bibliography of Commonwealth Literature
• African, Caribbean, and South Asian Fiction in English: A Select Bibliography
• Postcolonial Theory (II) Literature and the Arts: A Bibliography

Postcolonial Literature, Area-Specific:

Series

• World Bibliographical Series

Africa

• Africa Bibliography
• Bibliography of African Women Writers and Journalists: Ancient Egypt-1984
• Bibliography of African Literatures
• Black African Literature in English
• Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature

The Caribbean

• West Indian Literature: An Index to Critism, 1930-1975
• Bibliography of Women Writers from the Caribbean, 1831-1986
• Fifty Caribbean Writers: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook
• Writers of the Caribbean and Central America: A Bibliography
• Caribbean Literature: A Bibliography
• The English-Speaking Caribbean: A Bibliography of Bibliographies
• Caribbean Women Novelists: An Annotated Critical Bibliography
• Anglophone Caribbean Poetry, 1970-2001: An Annotated Bibliography

South Asia

• South Asian Writers in English
• Bibliography of Asian Studies
• Indian Women's Writing in English: A Bibliography
• Asian/Pacific Literatures in English: Bibliographies
• A History of Pakistani Literature in English
• Indian Literature in English, 1827-1979

African Literatures in English:

• Callaloo
• Current Writing: Text and Reception in Southern Africa
• English Academy Review
• English in Africa
• English Studies in Africa
• Journal of the African Literature Association
• Research in African Literatures
• Scrutiny2: Issues in English Studies in Southern Africa
• South African Theatre Journal
• Wasafiri

Caribbean Literatures in English:

• Anthurium
• The Caribbean Writer
• Journal of Caribbean Literatures
• Journal of West Indian Literature
• MaComère
• Small Axe: A Caribbean Journal of Criticism
• Wasafiri

South Asian Literatures in English:

• Indian Literature
• Indian P.E.N.
• The Journal of Indian Writing in English
• Journal of South Asian Literature
• Literary Criterion
• South Asian Review

Postcolonial Literatures in English:

• Ariel: Review of English Literature
• Journal of Commonwealth and Postcolonial Studies
• Journal of Commonwealth Literature
• Journal of Postcolonial Writing
• Postcolonial Studies
• Postcolonial Text

Finding Reviews:

• Academic Search Complete
• Africa Review of Books
• African Book Publishing Record
• AllAfrica.com
• West Indian Literature: An Index to Criticism
• ABELL
• The Book Review
• Book Review Index
• Caribbean Review of Books
• Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals
• Africana Book Reviews, 1885-1945
• Factiva
• Guía a Las Reseñas de Libros de Y Sobre Hispanoamérica: A Guide to Reviews of Books from and about Hispanic America
• H-Africa Review
• Hispanic American Periodicals Index
• Index to Book Reviews in Humanities
• Index to Commonwealth Little Magazines
• LexisNexis Academic
• New York Times Book Review
• New York Times Book Review Index 1896-1970
• PRISMA
• Times Literary Supplement
• TLSArchives
• Times Literary Supplement Index 1902-1939
• Times Literary Supplement Index 1940-1980

Author-Specific Reviews:

• Wole Soyinka: A Bibliography of Primary and Secondary Sources
• V.S. Naipaul: A Selective Bibliography with Annotations, 1957-1987
• R.K. Narayan

Identifying Newspapers and Magazines:

Africa

• African E-Journals Directory
• Africa: South of the Sahara
• African Newspapers Union List
• African and Black American Studies: Academic Writer's Guide to Periodicals
• Periodicals from Africa, First Supplement
• The Little Magazine in South Africa since 1945
• A List of South African Newspapers, 1800-1982
• Serials for African Studies
• The Black Press in South Africa and Lesotho
• Periodicals from Africa

Caribbean

• Caribbean Newspapers.com
• Current Caribbean Periodicals and Newspapers
• News Link

South Asia

• Directory of Periodicals Published in India
• Indian Periodicals: An Annotated Guide
• Guide to the Indexing of South Asian Studies Periodicals
• Indian Newspaper Society Press Handbook 2009-2010
• International Union List of South Asian Newspapers and Gazettes

Commonwealth

• Association for Commonwealth Literature & Language Studies
• Commonwealth Literature Periodicals: A Bibliography

Indexes to Periodical Content

• Carindex: Social Sciences and Humanities
• West Indian Social Sciences Index
• Guide to Indian Periodical Literature: Social Sciences and Humanities
• Index India
• Index to Commonwealth Little Magazines
• Index to South African Periodicals
• A Bibliography of Literary Contributions to Nigerian Periodicals 1946-1972
• Comprehensive Index to English-Language Little Magazines 1890-1970

Digital Archives of African, Caribbean, and South Asian Periodicals in English

• Access World News
• African E-Journals Project
• African Journal Archives
• African Journals OnLine
• Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library
• Electronic Journals and Newspapers on Africa
• SA ePublications, Social Sciences and Humanities
• Times of India Historical Archive
• World Newspaper Archive

Locating Microform and Digital Resources

• African Newspapers Union List
• Area Microform Projects
• CAMP: Cooperative Africana Materials Project
• SAMP: South Asian Microform Project
• Microform Research Collections: A Guide
• A Guide to Microform Collections
• Microfilm Collections Guides
• Primary Source Media: Scholarly Resources Online Guides
• Research Collections in Microform (Formerly UMI Research Collections)
• WorldCat

Selected Digital Collections

• Africa Knowledge Project
• African Writers Series
• Alexander Street Literature
• Alexander Street Drama
• Black Drama
• Black Short Fiction and Folklore
• Black Women Writers
• Digital Library of the Caribbean
• Caribbean Literature
• Eighteenth Century Collections Online
• Empire Online
• South and Southeast Asian Literature in English

Guides and Directories

• Subject Collections
• Guides to Archives and Manuscript Collections in the United States
• British Archives
• A Guide to Archives and Manuscript Collections in the United States
• Directory of Archives and Manuscript Repositories in the United States

National Archives

• Bahamas National Archive
• Guide to the Kenya National Archives
• National Archives of Bangladesh
• National Archives of India
• National Archives of Malaysia
• National Archives of Malawi
• National Archives of Malta
• National Archives of Pakistan
• National Archives of Trinidad and Tobago
• National Archives of Zambia
• National University of Lesotho Library
• State Archives of Cyprus

Databases and Webpages for Locating Archives

• Repositories of Primary Sources
• Archive Finder (Includes ArchivesUSA)
• ArchiveGrid
• British Library Manuscript Catalogues​
• National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections
• ARCHON
• National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the UK and Ireland
• WorldCat​

Scholarly Portals

• Postcolonial Studies at Emory
• Center for Research Libraries Topic Guides
• African Diaspora
• SARAI: South Asia Resources on the Internet
• Green Boxes
• Postcolonial Web
• Voice of the Shuttle
• Literary Resources on the Net
• Africa South of the Sahara
• Reference Works on African Literature
• South Asian Diaspora
• Digital South Asia Library
• Foreign Information by Country

Electronic-Text Archives

• Google Books
• Internet History Sourcebooks Project
• Project Gutenberg
• HathiTrust Digital Library
• The Imperial Archive

Organizations and Current Awareness Resources

• African Literature Association
• Association for Commonwealth Literature and Language Studies
• Calls for Papers in English and American Literature
• Caribbean Studies Association
• International Research Confederacy on African Literature and Culture
• Postcolonial Studies Association
• South Asian Literature Association

Author Resources

• Facebook
• Twitter
• YouTube

Volume Description, Reviews, and About the Authors