E-books: E-Book Collections Access and Licensing Agreements
This guide is designed to give users an introduction to e-books and provide more information on the many e-Book resources University Libraries has to offer.
Note that every title in the collections below is discoverable through the Library Catalog (limit to material type 'Internet').
ACLS Humanities E-book
Login requirements: None
Authorized Users: DU community members (excluding remote access for DU Law), and visitors to the DU libraries
Number of Simultaneous Users: Multiple concurrent users
Printing and Downloading: Allowed for personal and research use, subject to fair-use rights and restrictions. Download to e-readers not yet allowed.
Items checked out? n/a
Special Features: page-image text as well as interactive text; offers curated list with recommendations
Books24x7
Login Requirements: None.
Authorized Users: Access restricted to non-law school current DU faculty, students, and staff.
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Printing and Downloading: Covered by fair use. Can copy/paste text to other source to print, and can download occasionally.
Items checked out? n/a
Special Features: note-taking; bookmarking; citations (Chicago style); personal folders
British Literary Manuscripts Online, c. 1660-1900
Login Requirements: None.
Authorized users: All members of the DU community and visitors to the DU libraries.
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited.
Printing: 8 pages at a time.
Items checked out? No
Cambridge Companions Online
Login Requirements: None.
Authorized Users: All members of the DU community (excluding remote access for DU Law), and visitors to the DU libraries.
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited.
Printing and Downloading: Personal use only, allowed to print one chapter or 5% of pages from individual title, whichever is greater
Items checked out? n/a
Special Features: full search by author, title, topic, or theme; citation export; saved searches
CHEMnetBASE
Login Requirements: None.
Authorized Users: All members of the DU community (excluding remote access for DU Law), and visitors to the DU libraries.
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited.
Printing and Downloading: Either no more than covered by fair use or up to 1% of aggregate content.
Items checked out? n/a
Special Features: None.
e-Duke Books Scholarly Collection
Login Requirements: None.
Authorized Users: All members of the DU community (excluding remote access for DU Law), and visitors to the DU libraries.
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited.
Printing and Downloading: Downloadable and printable by chapter. Print within limits designated by Duke University Press. Can copy and paste text.
Items checked out? n/a
Special Features: Most read articles in last year option; personal subscription to journal option; citation manager. Can download to ebrary Reader.
Early American Imprints, Series 1 (aka Evans) & 2 (Shaw-Shoemaker)
Login Requirements: None.
Authorized Users: All members of the DU community and visitors to the DU libraries.
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited.
Printing and Downloading: Allowed for personal academic/research use, "insubstantial portions for temporary storage." Maximum of 25 pages allowed per download/print.
Items checked out? n/a
Special Features: Collection-making; advanced searching; multiple download formats.
Early English Books Online (aka EEBO)
Login Requirements: None.
Authorized Users: All members of the DU community and visitors to the DU libraries.
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited.
Printing and Downloading: Both permitted.
Items checked out? n/a
Special Features: Advanced searching; multiple download formats.
Early European Books
Login Requirements: None.
Authorized Users: All members of the DU community and visitors to the DU libraries.
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited.
Printing and Downloading: Both permitted.
Items checked out? n/a
Special Features: Advanced searching; multiple download formats.
Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Login Requirements: None.
Authorized Users: All members of the DU community and on-site visitors to the DU libraries.
Number of Simultaneous Users: Multiple concurrent access. Amount of user access per book will vary.
Printing and Downloading: Both permitted. Amount of pages for print/download will vary depending on the book.
Items Checked Out? Various books available for check out. Check out period will vary depending on the book.
Special Features: Store books in an online bookshelf and search within the text, highlight text, take notes, and bookmark pages.
EBSCOHost eBook Academic Collection
Login Requirements: None.
Authorized Users: All members of the DU community (excluding remote access for DU Law) and visitors to the DU libraries.
Number of Simultaneous Users: Single user per e-book
Printing and Downloading: Maximum of 60 pages printing and emailing. Downloading available with creation of personal account
Items checked out? Yes, patron can specify the amount of time
Special Features: browse by category; note-taking abilities; able to place holds on checked-out books
IEEE Xplore
Login Requirements: None.
Authorized Users: All members of the DU community (excluding remote access for DU Law), and visitors to the DU libraries.
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited.
Printing and Downloading: Individual articles for authorized users only.
Items checked out? n/a
Special Features: Download citations; advanced searching; multiple browsing options.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (aka ECCO)
Login Requirements: None.
Authorized Users: All members of the DU community and visitors to the DU libraries.
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited.
Printing and Downloading: 250 pages at a time. Downloadable.
Items checked out? n/a
Special Features: Full-text searchable; browsing by author; browsing by title; advanced searching; search history.
ENGnetBASE
Only some books had free full text access, others just had table of contents available.
Login Requirements: None.
Authorized Users: All members of the DU community and visitors to the DU libraries.
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited.
Printing and Downloading: Printing allowed. Occasional downloading allowed. “Either no more than covered by fair use or up to 1% of aggregate content.”
Items checked out? n/a
Special Features: Searchable; browsing by title; citation management; advanced searching; browse by subjects.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Login Requirements: None.
Authorized Users: All members of the DU community and visitors to the DU libraries.
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited.
Printing and Downloading: Both allowed.
Items checked out? n/a
Special Features: bookmarking; Search within results; advanced searching; subject guide
JSTOR
Login Requirements: None.
Authorized Users: All members of the DU community (excluding remote access for DU Law), and visitors to the DU libraries.
Number of Simultaneous Users: Multiple concurrent users (not unlimited for all titles)
Printing and Downloading: Printing allowed for some titles; downloading available with creation of personal account
Items checked out? n/a
Special Features: citation export
Knovel
Login Requirements: None.
Authorized Users: All members of the DU community and visitors to the DU libraries.
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited.
Printing and Downloading: Personal or internal use only, printable and downloadable by book section
Items checked out? n/a
Special Features: Citations; search within work feature; browse by subject; data search, special tools such as a unit converter and interactive equations.
Continued
Making of Modern Law, Legal Treatises 1800-1926, Primary Sources 1620-1926, Trials 1600-1926, & U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978
Login Requirements: None.
Authorized Users: All members of the DU community and visitors to the DU libraries.
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited.
Printing and Downloading: Up to 50 pages for U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, and up to 250 pages for Legal Treatises and Trials
Items checked out? n/a
Special Features: bookmark pages within document; advanced searching; browse authors; browse works
Making of the Modern World
Login Requirements: None.
Authorized Users: All members of the DU community and visitors to the DU libraries.
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited.
Printing and Downloading: Single copies of excerpts allowed for personal use and internal business purposes only
Items checked out? n/a
Special Features: bookmark pages within document; advanced searching; browse authors; browse works; detailed historical chronology available
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
Login Requirements: None.
Authorized Users: All members of the DU community and visitors to the DU libraries.
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited.
Printing and Downloading: May print a “reasonable portion.” Occasionally downloading allowed.
Items checked out? n/a
Special Features: Display snippets; advanced searching; author links.
Open Book Publishers
Login Requirements: None.
Authorized Users: All members of the DU community (excluding remote access for DU Law) and visitors to the DU libraries
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Printing and Downloading: Allowed
Items checked out? n/a
Special Features: browse by subject; download entire books; "forthcoming titles" section
Oxford Handbooks Online
Login Requirements: None.
Authorized Users: All members of the DU community (excluding remote access for DU Law) and visitors to the DU libraries.
Number of Simultaneous Users: Multiple concurrent users
Printing and Downloading: Printing and downloading of individual articles allowed
Items checked out? n/a
Special Features: browse by subject; search folders available with creation of online account; citation export;
Oxford Reference
Login Requirements: None
Authorized Users: All members of the DU community and visitors to the DU libraries.
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited.
Printing and Downloading: Single copies of "limited portions."
Item checked out? n/a
Special Features: Online dictionary; bookmark pages; citation export; saveable searchers and notes with personal sign-in.
Login Requirements: Access using your institutional email (DU.EDU, Iliff.edu). Account creation optional--can be used for offline reading on a mobile device.
Authorized Users: All members of the DU community and visitors to the DU libraries. Please see the Research Center Desk for help.
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Printing and Downloading: Entire chapters load as one continuous page - the layout is designed for online reading, but you can print an oddly formatted version through your browser's print command. Downloading is only available on mobile devices - you will need the O'Reilly app, available for both Android and iOS devices.
Items checked out? n/a
Special Features: Able to copy and paste text and add highlights or notes; chapters and books are searchable.
Springer
Login Requirements: None.
Authorized Users: Members of the DU community and visitors to the DU libraries; DU Law School community has access in the Main Library only.
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited.
Printing and Downloading: Both allowed. Individual articles, book chapters, or books for personal/educational use under fair use doctrines.
Items checked out? n/a;
Special Features: Browse by discipline; comments section after article information.
