Science Databases - GEOG 1218 - Our Dynamic Earth - Library Guides at University of Denver

Finding Sources

Finding Sources
The library offers a plethora of resources ranging from articles, newspapers, books, ebooks, videos, and more. Below are a few tips for finding resources:

Use the Compass Search tool on the Library homepage. Use this research guide to learn more about how to limit your results to more easily find sources that fit your research topic.
Google Scholar uses the Google search interface but can lead you to full text articles within the University of Denver's collection. Use this research guide to learn more about searching with Google Scholar.
Find a relevant research guide for your academic discipline or the type of research you're conducting (literature reviews, annotated bibliographies, grant searches, etc.). Research guides will also help suggest a targeted list of databases and resources you could consider in your research process.
Use a database specific to your research topic. As you progress in your studies and your research, you'll discover databases that focus on certain subjects or types of sources to help limit your results and access more specific search tools.

Interdisciplinary Science Databases

Interdisciplinary Science Databases

Below are some databases that will be helpful when conducting research in the sciences.

Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, this database by Ebscohost provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals.
Google Scholar
Enables users to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
Web of Science Core Collection (WOS)
Provides multidisciplinary coverage of high-impact scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited References Search to find articles that cite an author or work -- this allows you to track citations forward in time. Content dates from 1900 - present. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index.

Geography Databases

Geography Databases

Below are some databases that will be helpful when conducting research in geography.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection (ProQuest)
Includes ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management); EIS (Environmental Impact Statements); TOXLINE; and AGRICOLA (a comprehensive agricultural research database from the USDA -- ProQuest's version of AGRICOLA provides convenient links to DU's full-text subscriptions when available). Sources include scholarly journals, trade journals, newspapers and magazines, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books, and government publications.
Georef (Engineering Village/Elsevier)
The most comprehensive database in the geosciences. Covers the geology of North America since 1785 to the present, and other areas of the world since 1933. Contains references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.
GreenFILE
Database of articles focusing on human impacts on the environment, including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Publications Warehouse - U.S. Geological Survey
Contains more than 69,000 USGS bibliographic citations, including USGS numbered series begun as early as 1880.

Geography and Environmental Websites

Below are links to a variety of freely available resources.

World Resources Institute
The World Resources Institute is a global environmental think tank that goes beyond research to put ideas into action. They work with governments, companies, and civil society to build solutions to urgent environmental challenges.
Conservation International
"Through science, policy and field work, we're applying smart solutions to protect the resources that we all depend on. We help communities, countries and societies protect tropical forests, lush grasslands, rivers, wetlands, abundant lakes and the sea. Only through properly valuing the essential services these ecosystems provide can we create a sustainable development path that will benefit all people for generations to come."
Nature Conservancy
"Our vision is to leave a sustainable world for future generations. Today’s society faces unprecedented challenges. Dwindling natural resources, declining economies, a rapidly changing climate and other threats require that all of us begin working together to reach common solutions. More than ever before, we must find innovative ways to ensure that nature can continue to provide the food, clean water, energy and other services our growing population depends upon for survival."
NASA Global Change Master Directory
This is a comprehensive directory of descriptions of data sets of relevance to global change research. The GCMD database includes descriptions of data sets covering climate change, the biosphere, hydrosphere & oceans, geology, geography, and human dimensions of global change.
AGRICOLA (From the USDA)
This bibliographic database provides access to more than 4.3 million records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition. 1970-present.
Publications of the U.S. Geological Survey
This subset of the GeoRef database provides access to the publications of the USGS and includes references to U.S. Geological Survey reports and maps published from 1880 to date, references to non-USGS publications with USGS authors published from 1983 to date, and 225 references to reports produced by the Hayden, King, Powell, and Wheeler surveys.

Science & Engineering Librarian

Research Center Desk

Email Me

Contact:

Visit our "Make an Appointment" page to schedule a research consultation with a reference librarian.

You can also get in touch with the Research Center Desk during our operating hours at (303) 871-2905.

Subjects: *General / Interdisciplinary

University of Denver

University Libraries

Research Guides

GEOG 1218 - Our Dynamic Earth: Science Databases

Finding Sources

Interdisciplinary Science Databases

Geography Databases

Geography and Environmental Websites

Science & Engineering Librarian

Chat with the Research Center