Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a Peer-Reviewed Source?
In contrast to popular sources, peer-reviewed journals are written primarily by scientists, for scientists. The goal of a peer-reviewed article is to communicate new scientific research in the context of past research. The language in peer-reviewed articles is often technical and publishing follows a rigorous editing and approval process.
Popular vs. Peer-Reviewed Sources
Examples of Peer-Reviewed Journals:
Examples of peer-reviewed journals include: Nature, Proceedings of the National Academy of Science, and ACS journals.
Finding Peer-Reviewed Sources
Web of Science Core Collection Provides multidisciplinary coverage of high-impact scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited References Search to find articles that cite an author or work -- this allows you to track citations forward in time. Content dates from 1900 - present. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index.
Compass (Search All) A discovery tool that searches University Libraries' digital and print journals, books, newspapers, dissertations, and Library Catalog.
Academic Search Complete Designed for academic institutions, this database by Ebscohost provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals.
American Chemical Society Journals Provides full text access to journals published by the American Chemical Society (ACS), the leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences.
Nature Journals Online Publishes journals and online databases across the life, physical and applied sciences and, most recently, clinical medicine. Content encompasses daily news from award-winning journalists, expert opinion and practical methodology, and more high impact research and reviews than any science publisher.