Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Full Text for Popular Sources
Accessing the Full Text of an Article
Most of the time, you will be taken to the full text of an article directly from the list of popular sources. Some sites, like the New York Times, have a limit on the number of articles that you can read without having a subscription. If you receive a message that you have exceeded your number of free articles, try looking in the library's catalog to see if we have already paid for a subscription to a particular resource.
You can do this by searching for the source by name in the library catalog on the library website.
If the library has access, click the "Online Access Available" link below the item title on the search results page. Click any of the hyperlinks after "Access via" to search for your particular article. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to ask the Research Center how you can obtain access.
Full Text for Peer- Reviewed Articles
Full Text Peer-Reviewed Sources
Search for the full text of a peer-reviewed journal by searching the Author, Date, and/or Publication. Use Compass or the databases below to search full text peer-reviewed articles:
Compass (Search All)
A discovery tool that searches University Libraries' digital and print journals, books, newspapers, dissertations, and Library Catalog.
Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, this database by Ebscohost provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals.
Enables users to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
Web of Science Core Collection
Provides multidisciplinary coverage of high-impact scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited References Search to find articles that cite an author or work -- this allows you to track citations forward in time. Content dates from 1900 - present. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index.
Google Scholar Tips
Searching with Google Scholar
Before searching on Google Scholar, make sure your settings are in place to have University of Denver Libraries full text links show up in your search results. Follow the steps below:
- Go to scholar.google.com
- Click "Settings" at the top
- Click on "Library Links"
- Type in University of Denver in the search bar to select "University of Denver Libraries - U. of Denver fulltext" library access
- Click "Save"
- Start searching
Check out the Google Scholar Research Guide for more information: