Biology Reference Books
This is a small sample of the reference books we have in the biological sciences.
Animal Behavior Desk Reference
by
Words are our tools, and, as a minimum, we should use clean tools. We should know what we mean and what we do not, and we must forearm ourselves against the traps that language sets us. -- The Need for Precise Terminology, Austin (1957, 7OCo8) It follows that, for effective and efficient communication, people should have, or at least understand, the same precise terminology. Such terminology is crucial for the advancement of basic, theoretical, and applied science, yet too often there is ambiguity between scientific and common definitions and even discrepancies in the scientific literature. Providing a common ground and platform for precise scientific communication in animal behavior, ecology, evolution, and related branches of biology, Animal Behavior Desk Reference, A Dictionary of Behavior, Ecology, and Evolution, Third Edition contains more than 800 new terms and definitions, 48 new figures, and thousands of additions and improvements. Using a dictionary format to present definitions in a standard, easily accessible manner, the bookOCOs main body emphasizes conceptual terms, rather than anatomical parts or taxonomic terms, and focuses on nouns, rather than verbs or adjectives. Term hierarchies are handled with bulleted entries and terms with multiple definitions are included as superscripted entries. All sources are cited and most are paraphrased to conform to uniform style and length. The dictionary also includes nontechnical and obsolete terms, synonyms, pronunciations, and notes and comments, as well as etymologies, term originators, and related facts. Appendices address organism names, organizations, and databases. Devoted to the precise and correct use of scientific language, this third edition of a bestsellingastandard enables students and scientists alike to communicate their findings and promote the efficient advancement of science. "
A Dictionary of Genetics
by
The publication of this fully updated edition of A Dictionary of Genetics coincides with the hundredth anniversary of the introduction of the term genetics by William Bateson in 1906 at the Third International Conference on Genetics. Since then genetics has made tremendous advances inknowledge and technique and now occupies a pivotal position in the life sciences as the most powerful means for probing fundamental questions in cell biology, development, and evolution. The determination of sequences of complete genomes, the study of gene expression and genetic variation on aglobal scale, and the ability to rapidly amplify gene sequences and to achieve targeted gene disruptions are just some examples of major achievements in this field. Proliferation of new terms inevitably accompanies such remarkable progress. This new edition of the Dictionary addresses the needs ofstudents, educators, and clinical geneticists for an authoritative and up-to-date reference work that not only defines the latest terms, but in most cases, also presents important ancillary encyclopedic information. A Dictionary of Genetics is unique in that it includes terms from a wide range of disciplines which now intertwine with genetics, including molecular biology, cell biology, medicine, botany, and evolutionary studies. Its 7,000 cross-referenced definitions are supported by an excellent collection ofline drawings, tables, and chemical formulae. One-fifth of the Dictionary is devoted to six appendices to which the definitions are cross-referenced and which contain an extraordinary trove of supplementary information. This includes a chronology of important advances spanning the years 1590 to2005, lists of useful internet sites and periodicals, a classification of living organisms into an evolutionary hierarchy, and a sample table of genome sizes and gene numbers. These features make A Dictionary of Genetics a lexicon unparalleled in the field. For the first time, the Dictionary is available on Oxford Reference Online (ORO): Premium Collection!
A Dictionary of Plant Sciences
by
Completely revised and updated with over 250 new entries, the third edition of this dictionary offers broad coverage of all aspects related to the field of plant sciences including biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, biogeography, earth history, and earthsciences. New entries such as evo-devo, sister relationship, polytomy, and parallel sequencing make this the most up-to-date and comprehensive dictionary available.Useful appendices (The Universal Genetic Code, The Geologic Time-Scale, SI Units, Plant Classification, Fungi Classification) and a dedicated companion website featuring web links to relevant online resources support and enhance the A to Z entries.Clear, accessible, and concise, this is the ideal dictionary for students of botany, plant sciences and plant biology, environmental science and horticulture, as well as for amateur botanists and naturalists, and for the general reader with an interest in botany.
Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment
by
More than ever before, a compelling need exists for an encyclopedic resource about soil - the rich mix of mineral particles, organic matter, gases, and soluble compounds that foster both plant and animal growth. Civilization depends more on the soil as human populations continue to grow and increasing demands are placed upon available resources. The Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment is a comprehensive and integrated consideration of a topic of vital importance to human societies in the past, present, and future. This important work encompasses the present knowledge of the world's variegated soils, their origins, properties, classification, and roles in the biosphere. A team of outstanding, international contributors has written over 250 entries that cover a broad range of issues facing today's soil scientists, ecologists, and environmental scientists. This four-volume set features thorough articles that survey specific aspects of soil biology, ecology, chemistry and physics. Rounding out the encyclopedia's excellent coverage, contributions cover cross-disciplinary subjects, such as the history of soil utilization for agricultural and engineering purposes and soils in relation to the remediation of pollution and the mitigation of global climate change. This comprehensive, yet accessible source is a valuable addition to the library of scientists, researchers, students, and policy makers involved in soil science, ecology, and environmental science. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com. A distinguished international group of editors and contributors Well-organized encyclopedic format providing concise, readable entries, easy searches, and thorough cross-references Abundant visual resources - photographs, figures, tables, and graphs - in every entry Complete up-to-date coverage of many important topics - essential information for scientists, students and professionals alike
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia: Extinction
by
This full-color 2 Volume set complement to Grzimek's Animal Encyclopedia, 2nd edition, explores extinction and extinct life in detail. Written specifically for students and general researchers, the set features approximately 80 articles outling major extinctions and related scientifc areas, as well as providing a species-by-species account of extinction. Entries are written by experts in the field and are peer-reviewed by an editoriral board of academics specializing in zoology, paleontology and environmental science. Additional features include bibliographies of further reading sources, a glossary, contact information for scientific organizations and a comprehensive index.
Marine Ecological Processes
by
Elements of Physical Oceanography is a derivative of the Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences, 2nd Edition and serves as an important reference on current physical oceanography knowledge and expertise in one convenient and accessible source. Its selection of articles-all written by experts in their field-focuses on ocean physics, air-sea transfers, waves, mixing, ice, and the processes of transfer of properties such as heat, salinity, momentum and dissolved gases, within and into the ocean. Elements of Physical Oceanography serves as an ideal reference for topical research. References related articles in physical oceanography to facilitate further research Richly illustrated with figures and tables that aid in understanding key concepts Includes an introductory overview and then explores each topic in detail, making it useful to experts and graduate-level researchers Topical arrangement makes it the perfect desk reference
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
by
Over the last few years, the language of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology has expanded enormously to the extent that few scientists can expect to be familiar with all the terms and concepts. This is partly due the massive influence of the Genome and successive "-omics" projects which havedeveloped in to many new areas of research. At the same time, terms from other subject areas - including mathematics, statistics, physics and other life sciences - appear increasingly in the biochemical literature. The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology provides a comprehensive and 'encyclopaedic' survey of modern biochemistry and molecular biology. This new edition of the popular dictionary has been comprehensively reviewed and updated to include many important new concepts and words. Theentries are short but informative, providing up-to-date information on a broad range of topics, including definitions for terms from the fields of Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology.There are over 21000 main entries, which include: details of biochemical substances and the processes in which they are involved, methods and concepts in molecular biology, and definitions of biochemical symbols and abbreviations. Each entry is accessibly written. They point out pitfalls where termsare often confused, and explain the precise syntax of biochemical terms such as Greek letters and other formatting, which are invariably lost when searching the Internet. In addition, the dictionary is generously illustrated with over 900 chemical structures. The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology will serve as an invaluable reference text for student and professional biochemists and molecular biologists seeking information both from within and outside their own fields. It will also be of relevance and use to a broader audience oflife scientists seeking an authoritative overview of fundamental principles.
Stedman's Medical Dictionary
by
Stedman's Medical Dictionary, 28th Edition has been thoroughly reviewed and updated to make this dictionary the most reliable resource available for healthcare, including medical students, physicians, educators, researchers, and medical language specialists. This new edition includes more than 107,000 terms and definitions, more than 5,000 new to this edition. More than 45 consultants from all the major medical and health science specialties have reviewed each word for accuracy and clarity, including new consultants for the specialties of endocrinology, gastroenterology, geriatrics, and rheumatology. The art program has also been extensively enhanced and now includes approximately 1,500 images and illustrations. Readers will recognize the authoritative content contained in this new edition, and want to add it to their list of must have references.
Using the Biological Literature
by
The biological sciences cover a broad array of literature types, from younger fields like molecular biology with its reliance on recent journal articles, genomic databases, and protocol manuals to classic fields such as taxonomy with its scattered literature found in monographs and journals from the past three centuries. Using the Biological Literature: A Practical Guide, Fourth Edition is an annotated guide to selected resources in the biological sciences, presenting a wide-ranging list of important sources. This completely revised edition contains numerous new resources and descriptions of all entries including textbooks. The guide emphasizes current materials in the English language and includes retrospective references for historical perspective and to provide access to the taxonomic literature. It covers both print and electronic resources including monographs, journals, databases, indexes and abstracting tools, websites, and associationsOCoproviding users with listings of authoritative informational resources of both classical and recently published works. With chapters devoted to each of the main fields in the basic biological sciences, this book offers a guide to the best and most up-to-date resources in biology. It is appropriate for anyone interested in searching the biological literature, from undergraduate students to faculty, researchers, and librarians. The guide includes a supplementary website dedicated to keeping URLs of electronic and web-based resources up to date, a popular feature continued from the third edition. "
The Library Catalog includes records for print and electronic books, theses, media, musical scores, and more owned by the DU Libraries.
Try the Advanced Catalog Search to find materials by type, location, publication year, language, and more.
To retrieve a book you found in the DU Library Catalog, note the:
1. Status: See a green dot & the word "Available"? The book should be on the shelf, ready for you to check out.
2. Location: The most common locations you'll see are:
3. Call number: This is the item's address on the shelf -- bring the entire call number with you to the library. Look on the ends of each shelf for signs indicating what span of call numbers are on that shelf.
 |
 |
 |
|
The books in the Anderson Academic Commons are arranged by subject, so you can walk through the bookshelves in a particular subject area to see all the print books we have on that topic. Books purchased within the last six month are on the Main Level of AAC, and our main on-campus collection of books is on the Lower Level:
| Subject areas of potential interest:
G -- Geography
Q -- Science
R -- Medicine S -- Agriculture |
|
Prospector gives you access to over 30 million books, journals, DVDs, CDs, videos and other materials held in participating libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. With a single search you can identify and borrow materials from the collections and have them delivered to your local library.
|
1. Search for a book of interest in the Prospector catalog -- you can also find the link to Prospector on the library homepage.
2. Click the "Request It" button on the right-hand side of the info about the book. |
 |
| 3. Choose "Alliance - U of Denver" from the list of institutions that appears. |  |
|
4. Enter your name, your DU ID number (87.....), and choose your preferred pickup location. Potential pickup locations:
|
 |
Prospector is the fastest way to borrow books from other libraries, but if you don't find the book you need there, we can borrow books through Interlibrary loan. Search WorldCat to find materials owned by participating libraries around the world.
Transforming learning through video. Subjects covered include Business/Training, Health, Media/Communications, Sciences, Humanities, Education (K-12). Users can search, browse and see previews of videos. Kanopy is a mediated resource through which DU faculty, students, and staff may request feature films for purchase, and DU affiliates may view library-licensed films.
