Chapter 2: General Literary Reference Resources

Chapter 3: Library Catalogs

Chapter 4:  Print and Electronic Bibliographies, Indexes, and Annual Reviews

Chapter 5: Scholarly Journals

Chapter 6: Periodicals, Newspapers and Reviews

Chapter 7: Microform and Digital Collections

Chapter 8: Manuscripts and Archives

Chapter 9: Web Sources

Research Guides:

• Literary Research Guide

General Irish Literature Encyclopedias and Companions:

• The Cambridge Companion to Modern Irish Culture
• The Concise Oxford Companion to Irish Literature

Genre Irish Literature Encyclopedias and Companions:

• The Cambridge Companion to Contemporary Irish Poetry
• The Cambridge Companion to the Irish Novel
• The Cambridge Companion to Twentieth-Century Irish Drama

Biographical Sources:

• Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

Union Catalogs:

• Copac
• WorldCat

National Library Catalogs:

• British Library Integrated Catalogue
• Library of Congress Online Catalog
• National Library of Ireland Online Catalogues
• Trinity College Library Online Catalogue

General Literature Bibliographies:

• ABELL
• JSTOR
• Project Muse
• Year's Work in English Studies

Irish Literature Journals:

• An Sionnach: A Journal of Literature, Culture, and the Arts
• Australian Journal of Irish Studies
• Canadian Journal of Irish Studies
• Celtica
• Dublin Review
• Eigse: A Journal of Irish Studies
• Estudios Irlandeses
• Etudes Irlandaises
• Field Day Review
• Irish Journal of Gothic and Horror Studies
• Irish Review
• Irish Studies Review
• New Hibernia Review
• Nordic Irish Studies

Author-Specific Journals:

• Hypermedia Joyce Studies: An Electronic Journal of James Joyce
• James Joyce Quarterly
• Journal of Beckett Studies

General Literature Journals:

• boundary 2: An International Journal of Literature and Culture
• Comparative Literature Studies
• Costerus
• ELH
• Essays in Criticism: A Quarterly Journal of Literary Criticism
• MLQ: Modern Language Quarterly
• Modern Language Review
• New Literary History
• PMLA
• Review of English Studies
• SEL: Studies in English Literature
• Women's Writing

Identifying Periodicals and Newspapers:

• Center for Research Libraries
• Copac Academic and National Library Catalogue
• Irish Newspaper Archives
• Newsplan Report of the Newsplan Project
• WorldCat

Finding Articles and Reviews:

• Book Review Index
• Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
• Periodicals Archive Online
• Periodicals Index Online

Finding Microform and Digitized Collections:

• Bibliographies and Guides
• CELT: Corpus of Electronic Texts
• A Guide to Microform Research Collections in the Humanities and Social Sciences Division of the Library of Congress
• WorldCat

Microform and Digitized Collections:

• Act of Union Virtual Library: A Digital Resource for the Act of Union of 1800
• Early British Periodicals
• Eighteenth Century Collections Online
• Elizabethan Ireland and the Settlement of Ulster: The Carew Papers from Lambeth Palace Library: List of Contents and Index to Reels
• English Literary Periodicals
• Irish Script on Screen
• Early English Books Online
• Project Gutenberg

Locating Relevant Archives and Manuscripts:

• WorldCat

Websites for Locating Archives and Manuscript Collections:

• Repositories of Primary Sources
• Archives Ireland
• ARCHON
• British Library Manuscripts Catalogue
• DocumentsOnline
• Irish Literary Collections Portal
• The National Archives
• The National Archives Catalogue
• The National Archives of Ireland
• National Library of Ireland
• National Register of Archives

Scholarly Gateways:

• Ireland: Language and Literature
• Voice of the Shuttle: Gaelic and Celtic
• Voice of the Shuttle: Ireland
• IRITH: Irish Resources in the Humanities
• British and Irish Literature

Electronic Text Archives:

• Bartleby.com
• Renascence Editions: An Online Repository of Works Printed in English Between the Years 1477-1799
• Bibliomania
• CELT: Corpus of Electronic Texts
• Cuala Press Broadside Collection
• Irish Literature
• Irish Script on Screen
• Oxford Text Archive
• Irish Literary Sources and Resources

Author Sites:

• The Belfast Group
• Irish Writers Online
• Paul Muldoon
• The Oscholars

Current Awareness Resources:

• American Conference for Irish Studies
• British Association for Irish Studies
• International Association for the Study of Irish Literature

Reference Tools:

• ARCHON
• British Library Integrated Catalogue
• Copac
• Library of Congress Online Catalog
• National Archives
• National Library of Ireland Online Catalogue
• National Register of Archives
• National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections
• Queen's University's Belfast Library
• Trinity College Library Dublin Online Catalog

Cultural and Historical Resources:

• Culture Ireland
• Irishdiaspora.net
• Literature of the 'Troubles'
• Bibliography of Nineteenth Century Irish Literature

Volume Description, Reviews, and About the Authors