It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide will give a overview and research assistance to those working on themes and topics pertaining to South Asia. It will focus on South Asian religions and various dynamics that make up the lived experiences of communities in the region.
This library guide is for students who are hoping to do research on different aspects of South Asia. The guide will help students who are looking at one particular country in the region, or different themes associated with the sub-continent. Students will be able to find resources pertaining to each of the countries in South Asia. They will also be able to find resources on the major religious traditions of the region. Moreover, the tab on themes and topics will have resources pertaining to different topics that are crucial when understanding the region. While most of the resources will be books that are available in University of Denver's library collection, the home page will have access to databases that will be helpful in research as well.
Digital Resources and Other South Asian Studies Library Guides
Books, Periodical Titles, Videos and other cataloged materials
This is the library catalog for the University Libraries. Your search will help you locate materials owned by the University Libraries, including books, magazines, and other cataloged materials. System automatically utilizes the Boolean and to connect terms.
A unified catalog of many Colorado area libraries. Books held by the libraries can be requested via Prospector and are delivered to the Main Library at the Anderson Academic Commons in 3 to 5 days. Colorado Legislative Council reports not cataloged in the library catalog can be identified by using Prospector.
The world's largest bibliographic database presents bibliographic records for books, serials (journals), and all other formats. Use WorldCat to find materials not in University Libraries or Prospector.
Extended access to collections until June 30, 2022. A full-text database containing complete backfiles of over 2,000 core scholarly journals that have been digitized, starting with the first issues and dating from the 1800s to within three to five years ago.
Transforming learning through video. Subjects covered include Business/Training, Health, Media/Communications, Sciences, Humanities, Education (K-12). Users can search, browse and see previews of videos. Kanopy is a mediated resource through which DU faculty, students, and staff may request feature films for purchase, and DU affiliates may view library-licensed films.
Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Provides extensive news coverage at any level—local, state, regional, national and international. Features the vast majority of U.S. newspapers by circulation, along with almost one thousand hard-to-find local and regional titles, and offers searchable news video clips and over two thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages. Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
The United States' principal historical record of political open source intelligence for more than half a century. Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Provides background information, including geography, history, international relationships and economic conditions as well as government policies that can affect business conditions of a country and risk factors for turmoil for over 100 countries.
The Economist Intelligence Unit has published Country Reports since 1952, covering almost 200 countries. Each report presents detailed statistics alongside expert commentary and forecasting from the EIU’s analysts. This database presents the historical reports up to 1995, with all data from the statistical tables fully captured and downloadable in spreadsheet form. It is a unique archive of analysis and explanation of political, economic and commercial developments, together with historical statistical data.
"The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world."
In the Nineteenth Century, Christian missionaries directed their attention to unexplored regions, greatly expanding their endeavors. Colonialism brought increased knowledge of Africa and Asia, and the European and American churches extended their work into these areas.
This collection provides researchers with six rare English-language journals, five of which were founded by Western missionaries in the Far East in the 19th century, covering a wide range of topics such as East-West communication, Christianity in China and other parts of Asia, and China's political, economic, and cultural landscape.