Library Guides: College of Professional Studies Research Guide: Finding resources

Finding resources

University Libraries has millions of resources to support you. Search for books, articles, and more with the following sources.

Finding books

There are several methods for locating book materials for research. Below is a selection of resources to help you find books both in University Libraries and at other libraries.

Compass
Books, Periodical Titles, Videos and other cataloged materials
Compass includes the library catalog for University Libraries. Your search will help you locate materials owned by University Libraries, including books, magazines, and other cataloged materials.

more... less...

Books, Periodical Titles, Videos and other cataloged materials.
Compass includes the library catalog for University Libraries. Your search will help you locate materials owned by University Libraries, including books, magazines, and other cataloged materials.
Prospector
A unified catalog of many Colorado area libraries. Books held by the libraries can be requested via Prospector and are delivered to the Main Library Lending Desk in 3 to 5 days. Colorado Legislative Council reports not cataloged in the library catalog can be identified by using Prospector.
Google Books
Google has worked with many major universities such as Stanford, Princeton, the University of Michigan and Oxford University to scan their out-of-print and current books. You will see links directing you to bookstores and libraries where you can borrow it. If Google has determined that a book is out of copyright, or the publisher or rightsholder has given them permission, you'll be able to page through the entire book....

WorldCat
The world's largest bibliographic database presents bibliographic records for books, serials (journals), and all other formats. Use WorldCat to find materials not in University Libraries or Prospector.

Finding articles

University Libraries has a variety of electronic databases which provide both indexing and the full-text of research articles. Below are some recommended databases to get you started. Don't be afraid to explore additional databases! There is a wealth of information available for you! For a complete list of the databases go to the Databases A-Z page.

Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, this database by Ebscohost provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals.
ABI/INFORM Collection
Includes important full‐text journals and much sought‐after titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports
Business Source Complete
Contains premium content of peer-reviewed, business related journals. Provides detailed company information for more than 1.1 million of the world's largest public and private companies.
CQ Researcher
Provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day.
Google Scholar
Enables users to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
JSTOR
A full-text database containing complete backfiles of over 2,000 core scholarly journals that have been digitized, starting with the first issues and dating from the 1800s to within three to five years ago.
Nexis Uni
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
ProQuest Central
Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels.
GreenFILE
Database of articles focusing on human impacts on the environment, including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.