Skip to main content

Off Campus Research: Home

Library Research

Need to do your research from off-campus? DU Libraries provides off-campus access to databases, ebooks, articles, journals, streaming video and audio resources! Off-campus access is to library resources is available to current students, faculty, and staff.

VPN Access

Q: Why do I still need to login if I am already using the VPN?
A: Virtual Private Network (VPN) is like being on campus. You are still required to log into the databases when using them on campus, therefore you’ll still have to login to databases when using the VPN.
If you have questions about VPN access and the library's resources, please contact the Research Center.

 

Download VPN client for PC

Download VPN client for Mac

How to access resources

Q: Where do I start?

A: Begin at the library's homepage. Start a Compass search to find books, articles, journals, streaming video and audio. You can also begin at the Databases A-Z page and go to a specific resource or Google Scholar.

 

Q: Why Do I Need to Log In to Access the Library's Resources? 

A: Many of DU's electronic resources are available only to current students, faculty, and staff*. Log in using your PioneerWeb ID and password.
Alumni may access electronic resources on campus only.
*Other authorized users such as Iliff School of Theology current students, faculty and staff may be allowed access based on license terms and agreements. Iliff users should use their Iliff ID to log in.

 

Q: Logging into my library account will give me access to the databases, right? 

A: No. Logging into your library account does not log you into databases. Both use the same credentials, but these are two separate systems.

 

Q: A resource is asking me to login and to pay for an article. What should I do?

A: Ask the Research Center. We can check if this article is supposed to be available to us without prompting for payment. (This can happen if you don't start your search in Compass, Databases A-Z page, or Google Scholar, so you can try accessing the item from there if you haven't already.)

Proxy

DU Libraries uses EZProxy, an intermediary login tool that identifies you as a DU-affiliate so you have access to the Libraries' subscribed electronic resources.

Research Center

Jenn Brown's picture
Jenn Brown
Contact:
University of Denver Libraries
2150 E Evans Ave
Denver, CO 80208
303-871-3447
Website