Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Research - Open Web Resources: Music Resources

There are many resources available on the open Web to help you with your music research. The resources listed here are organized into general resources that can be helpful with music research, and resources specific to the discipline of music.

Music Indexes

UT Analysis Index

Index to published music analyses, maintained by University of Tennessee. Designed to pick up where Harold Diamond's Music Analyses: an Annotated Guide to the Literatureleaves off.

Classical Guitar Music in Printed Collections

Index to classical guitar pieces in published score collections.

UT Song Index

Index to songs in published score collections. Maintained at University of Tennessee.

ASU Song Index

Index to songs in published score collections. Maintained at Arizona State University.

UMD Song Index

Index to songs in published score collections. Maintained at University of Minnesota.

Oberlin Song Index

Index to songs in published score collections. Maintained at Oberlin College.

Folk Song Index

Index to folk songs in published score collections. Maintained at Oberlin College.

Anoka County Library Songbook Index

Index to songs in published score collections. Maintained at Anoka County Library.

California Library Systems Cooperative Song Index

Index to songs in published score collections. Maintained at San Joaquin Valley Information Service.

Los Angeles Public Library Song Index

Index to songs in published score collections. Maintained at Los Angeles Public Library.

University of Washington Popular song Database

Index to popular songs in published score collections. Maintained at University of Washington.

Music Video Resources

History of Music

Series of 20 YouTube videos containing a mashup of short audio clips from Antiquity through 20th Century.

Music History: Style Periods and Aesthetics

7-part University of Helsinki lecture series presented by Finnish musicologist Eero Tarasti. 

Howard Goodall's Story of Music

6-part BBC documentary series presented by award-winning british composer.

The Golden Age of American Rock

3-part BBC documentary series on American popular music.

Queer Music History 101

Lecture Series by LGBT historian and broadcaster JD Doyle. Has links to website with expanded material on topic.

Khan Academy: MUSIC

Khan Academy is an internationally-recognized, non-profit education organization. Their music lectures include series on "Music Basics: Notes and Rhythm," "Masterpieces Old and New," and "Instruments of the Orchestra" (January 2015).

AAPB

American Archive of Public Broadcasting. A digital repository of public radio and television content from the 1950's to the present day. The website went live in April 2015, with media content projected to be available "by October." More information here. Also listed under "Audio Resources." 

Making the Right Choices: A John Cage Celebration

A collection of 46 videos documenting a festival of John Cage's music presented in 2013 by Michael Tilson Thomas and the New World Symphony. Includes performances videos, visual interpretations, rehearsal documentaries, and short video essays. Also other material, including an essay on Cage by Tilson-Thomas, the text of address Cage delivered in 1948, performer bios, and image gallery. 

Music Score Repositories

IMSLP

The grandaddy of online score repositories. Includes both primary (manuscript facsimile) and secondary (published edition) sources. All material is public domain, so there are no modern, commercially-published editions. Also includes some recordings, and textural material such as Rameau's Démonstration du principe de l’harmonie.

Choral Public Domain Library

Like IMSLP, but devoted to choral music.

DIAMM

Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music. Online repository of over 14,000 (January 2015) manuscript facsimiles, hosted by Oxford University. Also includes side projects, such as an emerging series of editions of early music including Dufay's works and the Trent Codices. 

Music Treasures Consortium

Searches across digital score manuscript and edition repositories in 13 (January 2015) different European and American institutions. Hosted by Library of Congress. Contents are not duplicated elsewhere in theis list.

The Danish National Digital Sheet Music Archive

Digital archive of scores maintained by the Royal Library of Denmark.

SchubertLine

Not a free service but a sheet music vendor. I included this one because of its uniqueness: you can transpose any piece in their inventory to any key you like, before downloading and printing.

WLSCM

Web Library of Seventeenth-Century Music. Online score repository maintained by Society for Seventeenth-Century Music. Curated; welcomes submissions.

Mutopia Project

Digital archive of newly-engraved scores based on public-domain editions, plus newer works freely-licensed by their creators.

New York Philharmonic Archives

Digital archives of the New York Philharmonic Orchestra. Includes a number of images of orchestral parts. Viewable but not downloadable.

Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music, ca. 1820-1860

Digital repository of popular music songsheets hosted by Library of Congress.

Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music, ca. 1870-1885

Digital repository of popular music songsheets hosted by Library of Congress.

Duke University: Historic American Sheet Music

Digital repository of popular music songsheets. 

Brown University: African-American Sheet Music

Digital repository of popular music songsheets.

University of California at Berkeley: California Sheet Music Project

Digital repository of popular music songsheets.

Detroit Public Library: Hackley Sheet Music Collection of African American Themes

Part of the E. Azalia Hackley Collection of African Americans in the Performing Arts. Hackley, a Detroit music educator and performer, was University of Denver's first African-American graduate.

Benson Collection of Hymnals and Hymnology

Over 6,500 hymnals digitized as part of the Princeton Theological Seminary Library Theological Commons

American Vernacular Music Manuscripts, ca. 1730-1910

A repository of handwritten music manuscripts maintained by the American Antiquarian Society and the Center for Popular Music, with support from the National Endowment for the Humanities and Middle Tennessee State University. 

Audio Resources

Internet Archive

A huge repository of public-domain audio content of all kinds. Includes more than 10,000 Grateful Dead concerts. Other types of content avaiable, including text and video.

YouTube Audio Library

A repository of music clips for download and use. Browseable by free music, ad-supported music, and sound effects.

Jamendo

Luxembourg-based website hosting recording by independent artists licensed under Creative-Commons licenses. Free downloads for individual users (fee-based for comercial users).

Wikimedia

Wikimedia mosly hosts visual images, but there are a small number of copyright-free audiorecordings. You can add your own.

Free Music Archive

Archive of public-domain audio content. You can add your own.

CCMixter

A "community music remixing site" with Creative-Commons licensed audio content. Includes this alternative discovery tool.

Qatar Digital Library

A digital archive of cultural and historical material from the Persian Gulf region. Includes numerous audio recordings, many digitized from antique shellac phonograph discs.

World Hip-Hop Beats

A repository of hip hop and rap instrumentals, freely available for scholarly use.

Pond5 Public Domain Project

More than 2,000 freely-available audio tracks, plus video and still images.

Opsound

Community-maintained audio repository. Creative-commons licensed.

AAPB

American Archive of Public Broadcasting. A digital repository of public radio and television content from the 1950's to the present day. The website went live in April 2015, with media content projected to be available "by October." More information here. Also listed under "Video Resources." 

Other Minds

San Francisco-based repository of interviews, documentaries, and recorded performances of new music. Requires free account registration.

SoundClick

Online community with streaming audio and video, and paid downloads. A wide variety of genres and levels of quality, but classical, jazz, and world music are represented.

SoundCloud

Stockholm-founded, Berlin-based audio distribution platform that enables users to upload and publish audio files online. Contains a significant number of professionally-produced recordings by private labels. Sort of an audio YouTube.

Tanzania Heritage Project

A volunteer-driven project to preserve the history of Tanzanian popular music. THP is digitizing archives of reel-to-reel tapes from the 1960s and 1970s, held by Radio Tanzania, and making them available through an online archive. Most of this music is unavailable anywhere else, as it was never commercially distributed.

National Jukebox

An online repository hosted by the Library of Congress, the Jukebox includes more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925.

UbuWeb

A "sprawling clearinghouse for the avant-garde," maintained by poet and artist Kenneth Goldsmith with assistance from various institutional sponsors.

Music Reference

MusRef

Online guide to 8,000 + music resources. Useful despite a lot of broken links.

GFA: Online Research Resources

Hosted by the Guitar Foundation of America, and maintained by guitarist, guitar scholar, and retired Head of the OSU Music Library, Thomas Heck

Cantus

A database of sacred chants in early manuscripts and printed sources.

Early Music FAQ

Information on European Medieval and Renaissance music.

Lexicon Musicum Latinum

Medieval music theory database at Bayerische Akademie der Wissenschaften. German index of Latin sources.

Thesarus Musicarum Latinarum

Another database of latin sources for Medieval music theory; this one from Indiana University.

Univerity of Illinois: Hymn Tune Index

A census of tunes associated with English-language hymns found in sources printed in or before the year 1820.

Carnatic Corner

Information on South Indian Classical Music.

The Aria Database

A searchable database of information, texts, and translations of opera arias, including the complete works of Mozart, Verdi, Berlioz, Wagner, and Puccini; and the partial works of over 50 other composers.

The Spirituals Database

An searchable online discography of art song settings of Negro Spirituals.

Black Grooves

A music review site hosted by the Archives of African American Music & Culture at Indiana University.

Sir Shambling's Deep Soul Heaven

A rambling website with articles, essays, links, and hundreds of artist biographies on southern Soul music from the 1960s through the 1980s. An eccentric site maintained by an individual enthusiast.

Libguides (Music)

A link to all the Libguides on the Libguides Community page that are returned by searching on the term "music."