Library Guides: Jazz Research Resources: Home

Online Reference

Oxford Music Online
The largest comprehensive music reference resource in English. In addition to the entire content of of the New Grove, also includes the content of the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, the Grove Dictionary of American Music ("AmeriGrove"), the Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music. (Our subscription allows five concurrent users; please log out when finished.)

The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin (Editor)
ISBN: 0195313739
Publication Date: 2006-11-20
Authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists covering popular music from 1900 to the present, including folk, blues, world music, rock, heavy metal, techno, reggae, and hip hop. Described by The Times of London as "the standard against which all others must be judged." Edited and largely written by Colin Larkin.
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians Since 1990
ISBN: 9780028659855
Publication Date: 2004-07-01
Two volumes of biographical portraits of popular artists in many genres, including jazz and crossover genres.
The Harvard Dictionary of Music by Don Michael Randel (Editor)
ISBN: 1849720959
Publication Date: 2004-06-24
The most respected of the many one-volume general dictionaries on music. Has concise articles on jazz styles and elements. Does not include biographical articles.

Print Reference

The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz by Barry D. Kernfeld (Editor); Barry Kernfeld (Editor)
Call Number: ML102.J3 N48 2002
ISBN: 1561592846
Publication Date: 2003-02-11
A brief encyclopedia with articles on every aspect of the field, from jazz groups, composers and arrangers to instruments, terms,record labels and venues. Part of the "Grove family' of music reference works, the Jazz Grove is not just a subset of the New Grove but has unique content, with longer and more detailed articles on Jazz topics and personalities than comparable articles in the New Grove. (Music Library Reference)
The Billboard Illustrated Encyclopedia of Music by Paul DuNoyer; Paul du Noyer
Call Number: ML100 .B38 2003
ISBN: 0823078698
Publication Date: 2003-10-01
An encyclopedia of music genres with a strong emphasis on popular styles, though jazz and classical music are also covered. Offers concise introductions to each music form, presents a four-bar sample of its style, and provides biographies and discographies of key performers. Lists more than 12,000 musicians, performers, composers, and songwriters. Includes useful index, bibliography, and appendices. Numerous illustrations and music examples.
The Biographical Encyclopedia of Jazz by Leonard Feather (Editor); Ira Gitler (Editor)
Call Number: ML3561.J3 E55 1999
ISBN: 0195074181
Publication Date: 1999-11-18
Information on the careers of 3,300 jazz musicians from around the world. Clearly and concisely maps out an often dizzying web of professional associations, central to tracing the development of significant jazz movements. Highly accessible and well-researched by British-born Leonard Feather, a jazz pianist and one of the most prominent writers on Jazz in the 20th century, and american-born jazz historian and journalist Ira Gitler. (Music Library Reference)
Free Jazz and Free Improvisation: An Encyclopedia by Todd S. Jenkins
Call Number: ML102.J3 J46 2004
ISBN: 0313298815
Publication Date: 2004-09-30
Provides a scholarly historical and cultural overview of an experimental artistic movement that began and developed in parallel with the American civil rights movement. Fills many gaps left in previously published literature on the subject, and provides a critical assessment of an often misunderstood period in American music. (Music Library Reference)
Jazz Encyclopedia by Richard Cook
Call Number: ML102.J3 C66 2005
ISBN: 0141006463
Publication Date: 2006-08-01
An accessible work that lists the artists and bands who have shaped jazz and tracks the history of jazz and its changing styles. (Music Library Reference)
The Complete Encyclopedia of Popular Music and Jazz, 1900-1950 by Roger D. Kinkle
Call Number: ML102.P66 K55
ISBN: 0870002295
Publication Date: 1974-01-01
Excellent source of biographical information on jazz artists from the beginning of the 20th century through the early post-WWII years, including many obscure and early figures. Entries include critical evaluation and discographies. (Music Library Reference)

Librarian

Woody Colahan

Email Me

Contact:

303.871.6427

Subjects: Dance, Music, Theatre

Finding Jazz Solo Transcriptions

Saxopedia

This page lists 1,780 solo transcriptions that are available somewhere on the Internet. The list also includes solos for flute, clarinet and EWI. (File downloads as a GZIP archive. Extract the archive, then open the file in a web browser.)

Free Jazz Institute

An impressive list of solo transcriptions by numerous jazz artists, including Latin jazz artists and more contemporary artists like Pat Metheny and Avishai Cohen.

Finding Leadsheets

The Music Library (Newman Center, Room 440) has the following fakebook-type volumes on permanent reserve behind the Service Desk:

Irving Berlin Fake Book
European Real Book
New Real Book (vols. 1-3)
Just Standards Real Book
- (E-flat and B-flat)
Real Jazz Book
- (E-flat and B-flat)
Real Jazz Classics
Standards Real Book
World’s Greatest Fake Book

We also have a custom-compiled index of all 10 volumes, so you can just look up a song once. Just ask at the desk for the “Real Book Index,” or consult this nifty online version: Online Real Book Index.

The Public Domain Song Anthology

By David Berger and Chuck Israels. A collection of 348 popular songs with modern and traditional harmonization for both study and performance. This open educational resource was curated by two leading jazz repertory experts and consists of songs in the US public domain. This anthology is the first of its kind and is free for students and performers to use, adapt, remix, and share. The songs, many of which are at risk of being forgotten, are free of copyright restrictions and are available fo download in PDF, Sibelius, or Music XML formats.

The Public Domain Christmas Jazz Fakebook

By Stephen Cox. Third revision edition. A compliation of public domain christmas music with jazz changes. Includes Concert, Bb, and Eb lead sheets. Available for download in PDF or MuseScore format.

University of Denver

University Libraries

Research Guides

Jazz Research Resources: Home

Online Reference

Print Reference

Librarian

Finding Jazz Solo Transcriptions

Finding Leadsheets