Library Guides: A Guide to Computer Science Research: Journal articles & conference papers

Start your search in a general computer science database

Start your search in a general computer science database, then try a few more databases from the lists below that suit your topic.

ACM Digital Library
Database of articles relevant to computing and information technology from the Association for Computing Machinery. Search defaults to the ACM Full-Text Collection – you can expand your results to include the more comprehensive ACM Guide to Computing Literature.
Topics include computer technology, artificial intelligence, human-computer interaction (HCI), usability, network technologies, the IT profession, programming languages, operating systems, distributed systems, data management, data mining, big data, web design, web services, social media, and all areas of information and systems security.
IEEE Xplore
Collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, ebooks, and standards published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Content dates from 1988 - present.
Compendex (EI)
The most comprehensive engineering database; includes articles on computer engineering and other topics of interest to computer scientists.

Multidisciplinary databases

Broaden your perspective -- try databases with wider subject coverage:

Web of Science Core Collection (WOS)
Provides multidisciplinary coverage of high-impact scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited References Search to find articles that cite an author or work -- this allows you to track citations forward in time. Content dates from 1900 - present. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index.
Academic Search Complete
A full-text database designed to help students get started researching almost any topic. Sources include scholarly journal articles, popular magazines, newspapers, and more.
Google Scholar
Free search interface focused on finding scholarly literature -- including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports -- from all broad areas of research. Check out Google's search tips.

Additional computer science databases

arXiv
Database of electronic preprints covering physics, astronomy, math, computer science, quantitative biology, and statistics. Preprints are drafts of articles; many of these preprints will later go through a formal peer-review process and be published in scholarly journals. ArXiv is also available in the database ADS (Astrophysical Data System).
CiteSeerX
A scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
Computer & Information Systems Abstracts
Topics include artificial intelligence; computer applications, programming, systems organization, and hardward; information systems, mathematics of computing, software engineering, and more. Sources include scholarly journals, trade journals, conference proceedings, government publications, dissertations, books, magazines, and more.
Computer Science Database
Database that includes product reviews plus articles about database design and management, software, hardware, e-commerce, Web site development, intranets and extranets, and technology management. Sources include scholarly journals, trade publications, and consumer titles. Content dates from 1998 - present.
Electronics & Communications Abstracts
Tracks current developments within topics such as Circuits, Components and Materials, Photonics, Control and Systems, Telecommunications, Telecommunications Equipment and Instrumentation, Power Systems, and more.
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database
Database of articles relevant to aeronautics, astronautics, communications, computer and information technology, electronics, lasers, solid-state materials and devices, space sciences, and telecommunications. Source types include scholarly journals, trade journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newspapers, and more. Content dates from 1962 - present.
Includes Computer & Information Systems Abstracts, Electronics & Communications Abstracts, Solid State & Superconductivity Abstracts.
INSPEC
Contact Science Librarian at (303) 871-4499 for an appointment to search this database.
Database of articles relevant to physics; electrical engineering and electronics; computers and control; mechanical and production engineering; and information technology. Source types include scholarly journals, books, conference proceedings, videos, patent related information, and more. Content dates from 1898 - present.

Math and physics databases

MathSciNet
Comprehensive indexing with reviews of research articles on pure and applied mathematics, including some statistics. Covers journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports. May be searched by Mathematics Subject Classification (MSC2010) among other search options. Includes Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.
SPIE Digital Library
Offers peer-reviewed articles on applied research in optics and photonics, including optical engineering, electronic imaging, biomedical optics, microlithography, remote sensing, and nanophotonics.

Human Computer Interaction databases

HCI is a interdisciplinary science that includes a lot of cognitive science/psychology, so don't forget to search these databases in addition to the computer science databases listed in the top box:

PsycINFO
The American Psychological Association's (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.
Also found as PsychInfo
Web of Science Core Collection (WOS)
Provides multidisciplinary coverage of high-impact scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited References Search to find articles that cite an author or work -- this allows you to track citations forward in time. Content dates from 1900 - present. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index.

Economics & education

Consider an alternative perspective on your topic:

EconLit
The world's foremost source of references to economic literature.
Business Source Complete
Contains premium content of peer-reviewed, business related journals. Provides detailed company information for more than 1.1 million of the world's largest public and private companies.
ERIC (ProQuest)
The Educational Resource Information Center is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature.

University of Denver

University Libraries

Research Guides

A Guide to Computer Science Research

What's an article database?