Background reading can help you choose a specific application of your element to research -- encyclopedias and books might have information about the history or use of a particular substance. The references below also contain chemical data and properties.
In the sciences, primary sources are usually defined as the first reports of original research. But these first reports of original research, which usually appear in peer-reviewed journals, are written by scientists who specialize in a particular area (such as magnetic resonance) for other scientists who specialize in the same area. If you're not specialist in that same sub-field of science, the peer-reviewed article might be difficult for you to read quickly (it would take time and a lot of looking up of words/concepts you're not familiar with).
So, where can you turn for a good summary of new research? Secondary sources, which include popular science articles and books.
The Library Catalog includes records for print and electronic books, theses, media, musical scores, and more owned by the DU Libraries.
Try the Advanced Catalog Search to find materials by type, location, publication year, language, and more.
To retrieve a book you found in the DU Library Catalog, note the:
1. Status: See a green dot & the word "Available"? The book should be on the shelf, ready for you to check out.
2. Location: The most common locations you'll see are:
3. Call number: This is the item's address on the shelf -- bring the entire call number with you to the library. Look on the ends of each shelf for signs indicating what span of call numbers are on that shelf.
 |
 |
 |
|
The books in the Anderson Academic Commons are arranged by subject, so you can walk through the bookshelves in a particular subject area to see all the print books we have on that topic. Books purchased within the last six month are on the Main Level of AAC, and our main on-campus collection of books is on the Lower Level:
| Subject areas of potential interest:
G -- Geography
Q -- Science
R -- Medicine S -- Agriculture |
|
The 100 Most Important Chemical Compounds by 
Chemical Properties Handbook by 
A Consumer's Dictionary of Food Additives, 7th Edition by 
Gardner's Commercially Important Chemicals by
Includes the structures, chemical names, synonyms, and properties of commercially important chemicals. Properties that have been provided, when available, include: the melting point, boiling point, density or specific gravity, optical rotation, ultraviolet absorption, solubility, and acute toxicity. The major uses of most of the chemicals are indicated and, where appropriate, regulatory information is also provided.
The Yaws Handbook of Physical Properties for Hydrocarbons and Chemicals by
Refineries and petrochemical engineers today are accepting more unconventional feedstocks such as heavy oil and shale, causing unique challenges on the processing side of the business. To create more reliable engineering design of process equipment for the petrochemical industry, petroleum engineers and process managers are forced to study the physical properties and compounds of these particular hydrocarbons. Instead of looking up each compound's information, The Yaws Handbook of Physical Properties for Hydrocarbons and Chemicals, Second Edition presents an easy-to-use format with rapid access to search for the particular compound and understand all the complex calculations in one tabular format. Understanding the composition of hydrocarbons is not easy to calculate quickly or accurately, but this must-have reference leads the engineer to better estimated properties and fractions from easily measured components.
