Preventative conservation is key for any kind of object preservation. The following resources detail basic to advanced methods of object preservation, as well as relevant institutions.

Collections Care (Library of Congress) - Basic information and simple steps for the good care, handling, and storage of collections (paper, books, photographs, audio-visual, etc.)

Agents of Deterioration (Smithsonian Institution 2016; Canadian Conservation Institute 2014) - 10 Agents of Deterioration, which act as a standard and guide for creation of preservation and conservation plans, regardless of the artifacts. 

Storing Cultural Objects (Caring for American Indian Objects 2004, full book available Access full text) - Full text of the book addressing the unique concerns and processes involved in preservation of Native American artifacts.

Museum Collections Handbook (National Park Service 1990, revisions ongoing) - A thorough and intensive guide to collections care as the National Park Service recommends for their museums.

ICCROM (International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property) - Website filled with resources for conservation training, information, research, cooperation, and advocacy. 

Museum Registration Methods (Rebecca A. Buck and Jean Allman Gilmore) - Foundational text for museum and records management procedures. 

A Legal Primer on Managing Collections (Marie C. Malaro) - A comprehensive guide to legal issues that can arise within collections care.

Preventative Conservation (2018) Chicago Field Museum [Image]. Retrieved from fieldmuseum.org