Skip to main content

Management 3280; MBA 4620; Business Plan: Citation Help

Table of Contents

Guides

Citation Builders

Citing First Research

First Research industry profiles do not have authors/bylines. Here's how you could cite it APA style:

Accounting services. (2017 November 27). Retrieved from First Research database

In text cite for a direct quotation:

"Companies in this industry provide services such as auditing, bookkeeping, payroll processing, and tax return preparation" (Accounting services, 2017, Industry overview, para. 1).

Citing IBISWorld

To cite the reports from IBISWorld using APA, it will probably be easier if you download the pdf version and use it to create your reference.

Alvarez, A. (2017, October). Fast food restaurants in the US. Retrieved from IBISWorld database

In-text cite:

"Industry growth is expected to slow over the next five years as the domestic economy continues to improve" (Alvarez, 2017, p. 5).

Citing Mergent Intellect

These are three examples on how you can cite information retrieved from Mergent Intellect using APA style.

Verizon Communications Inc. (2018a). Retrieved from Mergent Intellect database

("a" is used after the year to differentiate it from other Verizon entries)

If your instructor wants a URL, you can cite as follows:

Verizon Communications Inc. (2018a). Retrieved from http://du.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://www.mergentintellect.com

In-text cite:

One of Verizon's competitor's is AT&T (Verizon, 2018a).

If you are using information from a company's 10-K retrieved from Mergent Intellect, you can cite as follows:

Verizon Communications Inc. (2018b). Form 10-KRetrieved from Mergent Intellect database 

In-text cite (you need to include the page number if you are quoting exactly from the document):

Verizon offers "wireless services on a postpaid and prepaid basis" (Verizon, 2018b, p. 4).

You can use the following format to cite a First Research industry profile from Mergent Intellect: 

Verizon Communications Inc. (2018c). Telecommunications resellers. Retrieved from Mergent Intellect database

In-text cite:

The market for second-hand smartphones will probably diminish sales for new smartphones (Verizon, 2018c).

Citing Mintel

Mintel has industry analysts who write their reports, so use them as your authors when using APA style.

Poelking, J. (2017 March). Outdoor enthusiasts - US. Retrieved from Mintel database

If your instructor wants the URL, then cite as follows: 

Poelking, J. (2017 March). Outdoor enthusiasts - US. Retrieved from http://du.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://academic.mintel.com

In-text cite. Since this is an exact quote from the report, the paragraph number was used because there are no page numbers:

"Social media is particularly popular among Millennial outdoor enthusiasts" (Poelking, 2017, Younger generations engage online, para. 2).

Citing ReferenceUSA

The following example reflects how I would cite a list of companies I retrieved from ReferenceUSA when I searched for pet shops in Denver, CO using APA style. 

ReferenceUSA. (2017). Pet shops in Denver, CO. [Data set]. Generated November 22, 2017 (10:43 AM). Retrieved from ReferenceUSA database

In text cite:

There were 57 pet shops in Denver, CO (ReferenceUSA, 2017).

If I wanted to use an individual company from the results, then I might use the following reference entry:

Bentleys Pet Stuff. (2017, November 22). Retrieved from ReferenceUSA database