Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Industry Overviews
Industry overviews can give you an idea of what is going on in an industry. Some of the things you can do with the information you get from them is determine trends and identify the type of competition in the industry. Below is a list of the University Library subscription databases that provide profiles and overviews for a wide range of industries. Use your NAICS or SIC code to search in First Research and the NAICS code in IBISWorld.
Provides thoroughly researched, accurate and current business information with expert analysis about economic, demographic and government data.
First Research (Mergent)
Provides industry profiles within the wide range of industries that fall under Construction and Real Estate; Public Services, Education, Recreation; Retail, Food and Agriculture; Services; Manufacturing; Technology and Communications; Transportation, Energy, Storage; and Wholesale. Note: Subscription allows five simultaneous users.
Business Source Complete
Provides abstracting and indexing to over 11,255 serials, with full text to 10,380, of which 1,299 are peer-reviewed. This database also provides non-journal content, including "financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more."
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage (S&P)
Provides industry surveys on over 5 major U.S. industries; company information is available as well.
Includes multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.