Library Guides: International Management and Marketing Resources: Industry Research

Industry Research

Industry Reports
Industry Classification

Industry overviews can give you an idea of what is going on in an industry. Some of the things you can do with the information you get from them is determine trends and identify the type of competition in the industry. Below is a list of University Libraries subscription databases that provide profiles and overviews for a wide range of industries. Use your NAICS or SIC code to search in First Research and the NAICS code in IBISWorld.

Passport
Provides business intelligence for countries, consumers, and industries worldwide.
IBISWorld (IBIS)
Provides thoroughly researched, accurate and current business information with expert analysis about economic, demographic and government data.
First Research (Mergent)
Provides industry profiles within the wide range of industries that fall under Construction and Real Estate; Public Services, Education, Recreation; Retail, Food and Agriculture; Services; Manufacturing; Technology and Communications; Transportation, Energy, Storage; and Wholesale. Note: Subscription allows five simultaneous users.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage (S&P)
Provides company information and industry surveys on 52 major U.S. industries, and After Market Reports (AMR) (formerly available via Thomson One).
To access After Market Reports, click the Research tab. To access the last 12 months of reports in our subscription, go to all contributors and then under Product Type, Select Aftermarket Research – Standard and then click on the Search button. When you retrieve the results, you can click on the PDF icon for a report you want, and then you’ll see an option to Download. When you click on that, you will get the report.

Research Foreign Markets
Use this site to find information for market research in global markets.

When doing business research, it is useful to obtain the NAICS codes and SIC codes. The links below will help you find the codes for specific types of industries. You can also find NAICS and SIC codes by looking at the industry information for a company in a database like Mergent Intellect.

It is important to know these codes in order to retrieve statistical information produced by the Census as well as search certain databases by these codes.

NAICS
NAICS is the North American Industry Classification System, a standard implemented in 1997 for classifying industry, product, and establishment. Use this site to find your industry NAICS code. Click on the relevant code to read its description and to ensure that you have the right code.
SIC System Search
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) is an industry classification system in which all Federal economic statistics are based on up to 1996. Use this site to do a keyword search to find an SIC code for an industry.

Mergent Intellect
Provides histories, financial information, and profiles of worldwide public & private companies.

University of Denver

University Libraries

Research Guides

International Management and Marketing Resources

Industry Research