Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the links below to search for electronic and print books available at DU in the Library Catalog, at Iliff School of Theology, or at other libraries via Prospector and Worldcat. You can also access a vast library of ebooks in philosophy via the Palgrave Connect Religion & Philosophy Collections.
Sample searches in Library Catalog:
FOUCAULT and GOVERNMENTALITY
HEIDEGGER and THEOLOGY
KANT and REASON
The University Libraries collection is classified using the Library of Congress Subject Headings, a “controlled vocabulary.” By using these standardized terms, you’ll find precise resources for your topic no matter what terminology the author may have used. By simply copying a subject heading into the search tool of the University Libraries database, students will generate a list of potentially helpful resources.
A unified catalog of many Colorado area libraries. Books held by the libraries can be requested via Prospector and are delivered to the Main Library at the Anderson Academic Commons in 3 to 5 days. Colorado Legislative Council reports not cataloged in the library catalog can be identified by using Prospector.
The world's largest bibliographic database presents bibliographic records for books, serials (journals), and all other formats. Use WorldCat to find materials not in University Libraries or Prospector.
Ira J. Taylor Library at The Iliff School of Theology
DU students are encouraged to visit the Taylor Library at The Iliff School of Theology to take advantage of the many resources related to the DSS available there.
SpringerLink Philosophy Book Collections
The SpringerLink (formerly Palgrave Macmillan) programme in Religion and Philosophy brings together innovative scholarship on the world's belief systems and philosophical movements, with books that range from research monographs to general interest titles and encyclopedias.
Select Electronic Books in Philosophy
Foucault Now: Current Perspectives in Foucault Studies by
Call Number: B2430.F724 F68 2014eb
Publication Date: 2014-02-27
Michel Foucault is recognized as one of the twentieth century's most influential thinkers, however the authors in this volume contend that more use can be made of Foucault than has yet been done and that some of the uses to which Foucault has so far been put run the risk of and occasionally simply amount to misuse. This interdisciplinary volume brings together a group of esteemed scholars, recognized for their command of and insights into Foucault's oeuvre.
Žižek and Media Studies: A Reader by
Call Number: B4870.Z594 Z57 2014eb
Publication Date: 2014-04-09
The contributors in this book take up a specifically Zizekian approach to studies of cinema and media, both old and new, raising questions about power, ideology, sexual difference, and enjoyment.
Wittgenstein and Plato by
Publication Date: 2013-05-14
This is the first volume dedicated to a direct exploration of Wittgenstein and Plato. It is a compilation of essays by thirteen authors of diverse geographical provenance, orientation and philosophical interest. The volume offers the most complete and detailed view to date on Wittgenstein and Plato, without being tied to any unilateral guidelines from either a critical or philosophical perspective. The authors are scholars of Wittgenstein, but also of Plato and Greek philosophy. The book is a sort of game of mirrors: Plato in the mirror of Wittgenstein, and Wittgenstein in the mirror of Plato.
Philosophy: The Classics by
Call Number: EBL
Publication Date: 2014
Now in its fourth edition, Philosophy: The Classics is a brisk and invigorating tour through the great books of western philosophy. In his exemplary clear style, Nigel Warburton introduces and assesses thirty-two philosophical classics from Plato’s Republic to Rawls’ A Theory of Justice. With a glossary and suggestions for further reading at the end of each chapter, this is an ideal starting point for anyone interested in philosophy.