Colonization can be found in every digital primary source collection, so it is difficult to identify collections that are primarily or exclusively about colonization. Included here are types of primary source materials from around the world, some subscription and some freely available. A few topic areas are covered, as are a few geographic area collections. If you are struggling to find relevant primary sources, make an appointment with me and we will research together.
Grants researchers access to digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and much more.
Includes the following collections: American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971; American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Supplement; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2; Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army; Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Africa, Middle East, 1960-1969; Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Asia, 1960-1969; Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Europe and Latin America, 1960-1969; FBI Confidential Files and Radicalism in the U.S., 1945-1972; Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930; Law and Society since the Civil War: American Legal manuscripts from the Harvard Law School Library; NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files; NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files; NAACP Papers: Special Subjects; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Legal Department Files; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses; New Deal and World War II: President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files and Records of Federal Agencies; Office of Strategic Services (OSS) and State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, 1941-1961; Slavery and the Law; Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records, Part 1; Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantation Records, Part 2; Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records, 1880-1990; Thomas A. Edison Papers; U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, 1914-1945; U.S. Military Intelligence Reports, 1911-1944; Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960–1975; Women at Work during WWII: Rosie the Riveter and the Women’s Army Corps; Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights; Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century: Federal Records; World War II: U.S. Documents on Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees; World War I: Records of the American Expeditionary Forces, and Diplomacy in the World War I Era (1915-1927); Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War (1865-1877); Records of the Children's Bureau, 1912-1969; American Politics in the Early Cold War: Truman and Eisenhower Administrations, 1945-1961; Students for a Democratic Society, Vietnam Veterans Against the War, and the Anti-Vietnam War Movement; Labor Unions in the U.S., 1862-1974: Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO; Margaret Sanger Papers: Smith College Collections and Collected Documents; Robert M. La Follette Papers from the Wisconsin Historical Society; Confidential British Foreign Office Political Correspondence: World War I; Creation of Israel: British Foreign Office Correspondence on Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1948; Progressive Era: Reform, Regulation, and Rights; Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries; Nazi Looted Art and Assets: Records on the Post-World War II Restitution Process, 1942-1998
Allows users to explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
17th- and 18th-century collection of books, pamphlets and broadsides published in America. Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Provides a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century. Based on the noted "American Bibliography, 1801-1819" by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's, including books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
This resource contains national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada from 1828-2016, including some bi-lingual and Indigenous-language editions.
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Use this database to access the digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. Full-text searching of millions of pages allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
The largest Digital Archive of Irish Newspapers in the world, with titles from every corner of the nation, providing access to millions of newspaper articles spanning over 300 years of Irish history.
Provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.
Brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and it's theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.
Drawing upon the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland this resource will be of great value to all interested in the History of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947.
China from Empire to Republic: Missionary, Sinology and Literary Periodicals 1817-1949 documents the thoughts of Chinese intellectuals and Western missionaries and diplomats about China, and their efforts to understand Chinese culture and transform the nation in the years before 1949. The collection contains missionary, academic, and literary periodicals in English published in or about China.
Observes history through the lens of wealth and trade with a focus on economics in the widest sense, including political science, history, philosophy, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.
Slavery and abolition materials, all filmed in full-resolution color, include books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera; among them are a large number of invaluable Southern imprints. Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Coverage spans the Missouri Compromise and the founding of Liberia as a colony for blacks fleeing America; the rise and suppression of abolitionist activities; the first National Anti-Slavery Society Convention in 1837 and the Compromise of 1850; the Emancipation Proclamation and the establishment of “Redeemer” state governments; the birth of “Jim Crow” and the expansion of segregation through the early 1920s. Subjects covered include religion, freedmen, suffrage, insurrections, the slave trade and many others. Genres range from personal narratives to children’s literature to black authors, including Denmark Vesey, Olaudah Equiano, W.E.B. Du Bois, Charles Ball, and more.
Includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
An archive of digitized primary documents focus on the history of Latin America and the Caribbean back to the early 1800s through the contemporary period sourced from collections in the U.S. and abroad. (Formerly known as World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean)
Issued by the Foreign and Colonial Offices since around 1820, the Confidential Print series originated out of a need for the Government to preserve all of the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Some of these were one-page letters or telegrams; others were large volumes or texts of treaties. All items marked 'Confidential Print' were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet and to heads of British missions abroad.
Fully searchable collection providing Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries featured from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere. Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Born in 1879, an only son, Sir Mark Sykes succeeded his father in 1913 as 6th Baronet with large estates in Sledmere, East Yorkshire. By then he had already distinguished himself in military affairs, and as an amateur diplomat, a writer, linguist, politician and keen traveller, particularly in the Middle East. As MP for the Central Hull constituency from 1911, Sir Mark built up a considerable reputation in the House, due in large part to his Middle Eastern expertise.
Issued by the Foreign and Colonial Offices since around 1820, the Confidential Print series originated out of a need for the Government to preserve all of the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Some of these were one-page letters or telegrams; others were large volumes or texts of treaties. All items marked 'Confidential Print' were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet and to heads of British missions abroad.
Translated news broadcasts and publications on the international reaction to apartheid throughout the African continent and from around the world. Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring English- and foreign-language titles from Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
