Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This LibGuide serves members of the DU community and public patrons in finding and navigating the USC Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive.
Click the Visual History Archive link below to access the database.
Visual History Archive NOTE
: Current members of the DU community may access on campus and remotely. Visitors
may access the database in the library by requesting a "Visitor Computer Pass" at the Lending Desk. Reciprocal borrowers and visitors with a "Public Library Referral" can access the database at no charge; all others may pay a daily $5 fee to use the library and its resources, including this database.
The Visual History Archive® is the Institute’s collection of audiovisual interviews with witnesses and survivors of the Holocaust and other genocides. The USC Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive contains more than 114,000 hours of testimony – the equivalent of a dozen years. And yet, using a search engine developed and patented by the Institute, students and researchers can pinpoint moments of interest down to the minute. This indexing capability makes use of over 64,000 keywords and phrases, 1.8 million names and over 710,000 images.
USC Shoah Foundation VHA Research Guide
The University of Southern California houses and maintains the USC Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive. Users may find more useful information and tutorials on the USC Research Guide page. NOTE: Users will not be able to access the VHA database from the USC Research Guide. Use the "Visual History Archive" link above.