Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Spanish-American sugar beet worker. Adams County, Colorado, by Arthur Rothstein, October 1939
Colorado Digital Collections
Colorado Chicano Movement History Portal
"The Colorado Chicano Movement Portal is a gateway to historical collections and primary sources documenting the Chicano civil rights movement in Colorado. It provides access to archival materials about Chicano history in libraries, archives, and museums across the state. Explore photographs, manuscripts, films, oral histories, and artifacts from the Chicano story in Colorado."
Denver Public Library Digital Collections
"This online collection contains a selection of photographs, maps, broadsides, architectural drawings and other documents from the collections of the Western History and Genealogy Department and the Blair-Caldwell African American Research Library, chronicling the people, places, and events that shaped the settlement and growth of the Western United States.
History Colorado Online Collection
"Explore Colorado’s past through the archives, artifacts, and photographs of the History Colorado Collection." Search relevant subject headings, such as: Subject headings: migrant agricultural laborers; migrant labor; agricultural laborers; beet sugar industry; Mexican Americans--Colorado.
National Digital Collections
Bracero History Archive
"The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America." Includes oral histories, images, and documents.
Farm Security Administration: Library of Congress Digital Photographs
"The photographs in the Farm Security Administration/Office of War Information Photograph Collection form an extensive pictorial record of American life between 1935 and 1944. This U.S. government photography project was headed for most of its existence by Roy E. Stryker, who guided the effort in a succession of government agencies: the Resettlement Administration (1935-1937), the Farm Security Administration (1937-1942), and the Office of War Information (1942-1944)." To find Colorado examples, search keywords such as: sugar beet Colorado; Mexican Colorado; Spanish Colorado; migrant Colorado. Many photographs are in the public domain (https://www.loc.gov/rr/print/res/071_fsab.html).
Farmworker Movement Documentation Project
Primary source accounts: photographs, oral histories, videos, essays and historical documents from the United Farm Worker Delano Grape Strikers and the UFW Volunteers who worked with Cesar Chavez to build his farmworker movement. Compiled / Published by LeRoy Chatfield ©2004-2012.
Voces Oral History Center, UT Austin
"Voces Oral History Center is dedicated to recording and disseminating the stories of US Latinas and Latinos and weaving the many perspectives into our historical narrative at the national, state and local levels." Produced by the Moody College of Communication.