Skip to main content

University Archives: Intro

The University Archives contains records of the University of Denver (DU) from its founding in 1864 to the present. These records include those of both active and inactive University departments, athletic programs, faculty research, and much more.

Featured Collection

We have digitized the Kynewisbok, the University of Denver student yearbook (1895-2004).

Find the digital version of the Kynewisbok in Digital DU, the University of Denver digital repository -- check it out!

How Do I Find Materials?

Material in the University Archives is arranged in a series of record groups that reflect the University of Denver's organizational structure.

Some -- but not all -- materials in the archives are represented in our online finding aid tool.

If you're not sure about what we have, ask! E-mail the Special Collections and Archives staff, or give us a call at 303-871-3428.

What's in the University Archives?

Barbara Kidder

The University Archives contains records of the University of Denver (DU) from its founding in 1864 to the present. These records include those of both active and inactive University departments, athletic programs, faculty research, the records of Chancellors, the Board of Trustees, and much more.

Where are the University Archives?

University Archives are located in the Anderson Academic Commons building, as well as at our off-site storage facility, the Hampden Center. In some instances, University of Denver permanent records are managed and maintained by the originating department (e.g. all records of the buildings managed by the University Architect are held by the Architect's office). In these cases, University Archives staff is happy to help locate the records and work with researchers to request access from the department.

To use the University Archives, come to the Ida and Max Fogel Family Reading Room, Anderson Academic Commons, Room 101. A map of the building can be located here.

Theses & Dissertations

Since the turn of the 20th century, the University of Denver has conferred graduate degrees which require a thesis or dissertation for completion. These are official University of Denver records.

ProQuest is a commercial vendor which has served as a central place for many US academic institutions to deposit dissertations and theses. Today, the company offers an online database which allows those with access to search for DU dissertations and theses. DU dissertations that are included in ProQuest, back to the early 1900s, can be searched in the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text database, while DU dissertations from 1997 to present can be found in a subset of ProQuest, Dissertations & Theses @ DU. In both the complete database and the subset, some publications may be available as PDFs, while other records have abstracts or are simply citations.

Older dissertations and theses can also be searched in our library catalog. The easiest way to search for dissertations is to include “University of Denver” as part of your search term, then use the Dissertations facet on the right to restrict your results to dissertations and theses. Depending upon the date of the dissertation and the permissions of the author, the item may be available in print, microfilm, or electronically.

If the paper desired is not included in ProQuest and it is not available on microfilm, contact the University Archives to ask if a copy exists in the archives and to gain access. Contact us at our main desk number (303-871-3428) or email (archives@du.edu) and let us know the author of the dissertation and the year of graduation. If a copy is available, it will take 48 hours to retrieve the work and will only be available for use in the Special Collections and Archives Reading Room (AAC 101). Copying is likely to be prohibited both due to the condition of the binding and copyright.

Major research projects that are not theses or dissertations, with a few exceptions, are generally retained and managed by the department that conferred the degree.

 

Librarian Profile

Katherine Crowe's picture
Katherine Crowe
Contact:
303-871-2274