Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image Finding Guides
Finding Images on the Web
A guide to web resources developed by Ruth S. Thomas, Art/Art History Bibliographer, Boston University Libraries.
It is the responsibility of the individual to ensure proper use of images. Be sure to determine restrictions in each case in order to satisfy copyright.
All images must be properly cited and credited, even copyright free images.
Contains photographs, audio sound bites, graphics, and text spanning over 160 years of history.
A nonprofit resource that provides over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
Britannica Image Quest
Access more than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central
Provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history.
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
National Geographic Virtual Library
Brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazine, every page of every issue, along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos.