Library Guides: Hospitality Management: Industry Research

Industry Sources

Industry reports can give you an idea of what is going on in an industry. Some of the things you can do with the information you get from them is determine trends and identify the type of competition in the industry. Below is a list of University Libraries' subscription databases that provide profiles and overviews for a wide range of industries.

BEST BETS!

IBISWorld (IBIS)
Provides thoroughly researched, accurate and current business information with expert analysis about economic, demographic and government data.
First Research (Mergent)
Provides industry profiles within the wide range of industries that fall under Construction and Real Estate; Public Services, Education, Recreation; Retail, Food and Agriculture; Services; Manufacturing; Technology and Communications; Transportation, Energy, Storage; and Wholesale. Note: Subscription allows five simultaneous users.

REPORTS

Hotels & Motels in United States
This report produced by Marketline provides industry information for the U.S. Analysis using Porter's five forces is included.
Hotels & Motels in North America
Marketline report about this industry in North America.
U. S. Hotels & Motels Industry (NAICS 72111) - 2020.
This Barnes report offers information on the U.S. hotels and motels industry including data on establishments, firms and payroll, industry rentals, and estimated cost of materials in metropolitan areas from 2013 to 2015. A glossary of terms and definitions used in the report is also provided which include terms such as number of establishments, sales, shipments, receipts, revenue, and business done.

OTHER DATABASES

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes important full‐text journals and much sought‐after titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports
Business Source Complete
Contains premium content of peer-reviewed, business related journals. Provides detailed company information for more than 1.1 million of the world's largest public and private companies.
Passport
Provides business intelligence for countries, consumers, and industries worldwide.
Plunkett Research Online
Industry-specific research portals for the most important business sectors, from energy to e-commerce and retailing to financial services.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage (S&P)
Provides company information and industry surveys on 52 major U.S. industries, and After Market Reports (AMR) (formerly available via Thomson One).
To access After Market Reports, click the Research tab. To access the last 12 months of reports in our subscription, go to all contributors and then under Product Type, Select Aftermarket Research – Standard and then click on the Search button. When you retrieve the results, you can click on the PDF icon for a report you want, and then you’ll see an option to Download. When you click on that, you will get the report.

Statista
Features data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, including market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Note: For University of Denver faculty, students and staff only. Users of the Statista websites and subpages are granted a nonexclusive, non-transferable, limited right to access and use for research purposes the Online Service and Materials made available. Commercial use is strictly prohibited. No library walk-ins are allowed to use this database.

BizMiner
Offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more.
Please visit this tutorial about searching Bizminer.
Key Business Ratios (Mergent)
This tool lets researchers examine industry benchmarks compiled from D&B®’s database of public and private companies.

When doing business research, it can be useful to obtain the NAICS codes and SIC codes for an industry.

NAICS (North American Industry Classification System): This "is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy."
SIC (Standard Industrial Classification): The industry classification system in which all Federal economic statistics were based on up to 1996. The NAICS system replaced this in 1997.

Relevant NAICS and SIC codes are provided below:

NAICS 721110: Hotels (except Casino Hotels); Motels; Ski lodges and resorts with accommodations

SIC 7011: Hotels and Motels (which includes resorts as well as Ski lodges and ski resorts)

CASINOS:

NAICS 721120: Casino Hotels ; SIC 7011: Hotels and Motels (which includes Casino hotels)

NAICS
NAICS is the North American Industry Classification System, a standard implemented in 1997 for classifying industry, product, and establishment. Use this site to find your industry NAICS code. Click on the relevant code to read its description and to ensure that you have the right code.
SIC System Search
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) is an industry classification system in which all Federal economic statistics are based on up to 1996. Use this site to do a keyword search to find an SIC code for an industry.

University of Denver

University Libraries

Research Guides

Hospitality Management

Industry Sources