Library Guides: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Studies: Newspapers and Periodicals

Periodical Collections

Alternative Press Index
A bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals.
Alternative Press Index Archive
Archive covers 1969-1990. Alternative Press Index is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals.
Ethnic Newswatch
Provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content. Available as two resources: Ethnic NewsWatch, which is a current collection, and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which is an historical collection.
HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
Source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
Independent Voices
A collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBTQIA activists, the extreme right-wing press, and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Advocate
Gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, queer news leader including politics, commentary, arts & entertainment.
Autostraddle
Founded in March 2009 by Riese Bernard and Alexandra Vega and still run by a dedicated team of passionate weirdos, Autostraddle is an intelligent, hilarious & provocative voice and a progressively feminist online community for multiple generations of kickass lesbian, bisexual & otherwise inclined ladies (and their friends).
Curve Magazine
"Curve Media, has been supplying news and features globally to the lesbian, queer and bisexual community since 1989."
Out Magazine
Gay and lesbian perspectives on style, entertainment, travel, fashion, arts, politics, culture, music, film, celebrities and the world at large.

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
Diverse periodicals - which have shaped, and in turn been shaped by, African American culture - will enable new discoveries on lives of African Americans as individuals, as an ethnic group and as Americans.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
American Historical Periodicals (Series 6)
American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society provides a history of the American people and a testament to the growth of the nation from the colonial period through to the twentieth century.

Outweek Magazine Archive
"OutWeek Magazine was the seminal lesbian and gay publication during the peak era of AIDS activism in the late 80s and early 90s. This site contains the entire 105 issues of OutWeek Magazine, published in New York from June, 1989 to July, 1991."

Periodicals Archive Online
A major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson)
Provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature.

Access World News
Provides extensive news coverage at any level—local, state, regional, national and international. Features the vast majority of U.S. newspapers by circulation, along with almost one thousand hard-to-find local and regional titles, and offers searchable news video clips and over two thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Colorlines
A daily news site where race matters, featuring award-winning in-depth reporting, news analysis, opinion, and curation.
New York Times (US Newsstream)
It may be known as "America's newspaper," but for more than a century, The New York Times has commanded an international readership. Includes today's articles.
Nexis Uni
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Truthout
A nonprofit news organization dedicated to providing independent reporting and commentary on a diverse range of social justice issues.
US Newsstream
Offers access to the full text of newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world.

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Provides access to U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
America's Historical Newspapers
Thousands of titles chronicle centuries of American history, culture and daily life. Includes titles from all 50 present states. This database provides access to digitized versions of primary source material.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America
This resource contains national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada from 1828-2016, including some bi-lingual and Indigenous-language editions.
Black Newspapers (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides continuous newspaper runs of vital primary source materials essential for the study of U.S. history, African-American history, culture, politics, genealogy, the arts, media, and communications.

Empty Closet Archives 1971-2015
"The Empty Closet is one of the oldest continuously published LGBT papers in the United States. It was begun at the University of Rochester by Bob Osborn and Larry Fine, the founders of the UR student group, Rochester Gay Liberation Front, and later transferred to the Gay Alliance of the Genesee Valley (GAGV).

Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980
Offers a diversity of unabridged voices, ranging from intellectuals and literary notables to politicians, union organizers and grassroots figures.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Provides researchers the ability to digitally travel back through centuries to become eyewitnesses to history. One can find front-page headlines, classified ads, marriage and death announcements, comic strips, reviews, display advertising, editorials, birth notices, photographs, and many other article types.