Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Source and Digital Collections
British Library LGBTQ Histories
"From the 1500s to today, this site charts the struggles for love, identity and legislative change faced by LGBTQ communities in the UK"
Defining Gender, 1450-1910
Over 120,000 pages of original documents relating to Gender Studies. Images are sourced from British and European libraries and archives, including a strong core of document images from the Bodleian Library, Oxford and the British Library.
Digital Transgender Archive
An online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.
Gender: Identity and Social Change
Includes primary sources for the study of gender history, women’s suffrage, the feminist movement, and the men’s movement. Gain an insight into changing societal expectations about gender roles through pamphlets, speeches, newsletters, newspaper clippings, and through personal diaries and correspondence. Other key areas represented in the material include: employment and labour, education, government and legislation, the body, domesticity, and the family
Latino GLBT History Project
"We believe that the preservation and sharing of Latinx LGBTQ community narratives and artifacts, grounded in messages of tolerance and acceptance, help create spaces and environments conducive to personal and communal growth and prosperity." Documents the Washington DC Latinx LGBTQ community.
Lesbian Herstory Archives: Audio Visual Collections
"The Lesbian Herstory Archives (LHA) is home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities. “LHA Herstories: Audio/Visual Collections” contains digitized copies of some of the 3,000 oral history cassettes in the Archives' Spoken Word Collection and 950 videotapes in the Video Collection."
LGBTQ+ Studies Web Archive (Library of Congress)
"The LGBTQ+ Studies Web Archive collects and preserves online content which documents LGBTQ+ history, scholarship, and culture in the United States and around the world. Sites include domestic and international non-profit organizations, journalism and news external link, creative works and expressions, historical records, and more. Collection priorities include primary sources, first-hand accounts, coverage of significant events, and essential artifacts of cultural memory. This collection seeks to illuminate LBGTQ+ voices, from margin to center. The sites curated here preserve subjects and perspectives which have been historically underrepresented in Library holdings, are ephemeral in nature, and those which have proven difficult to collect via traditional or print resources."
Making Gay History
"We bring LGBTQ history to life through the voices of the people who lived it — creating podcasts and documentaries, sourcing and licensing archival materials, producing events, and developing LGBTQ-inclusive educational resources."
ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives
"ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives is the oldest active Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning (LGBTQ) organization in the United States and the largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world. Founded in 1952, ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records and personal papers.A small subset of this material has been digitized and is available online."
"OutHistory.org presents free, evidence-based features and documents on U.S. lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer history." Founded by Jonathan Ned Katz, author of Gay American History (1976) and other books on the history of sexuality and gender.
Queer Art History
A freely available visual history archive and educational resource for queer art and culture.
Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP)
Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) first launched in November 2003 to establish a living history archive of past and present queer zines. This is a freely available searchable database with links to view/download electronic copies of zines. Browse, search, and visit the blog.
San Francisco Bay Area Television Archive
"Established in 1982, the TV Archive preserves 6000 hours of newsfilm, documentaries and other TV footage produced in the Bay Area and Northern California from the Twentieth Century." Includes news broadcasts on LGBTQ life in the Bay Area, and the AIDS Crisis collection from the 1980s and 1990s.
Stonewall National Museum and Archives
"The Stonewall National Museum and Archives (SNMA) is one of the largest gay archives and libraries in the United States, now almost 50 years old. However, we have no direct link to the Stonewall Riots in New York in 1969. When we were founded in 1972, the founder Mark Silber used the name “Stonewall” to recognize the fight for LGBTQ liberation that began at the Stonewall Inn in 1969. It was a name with meaning then and it has become nearly synonymous with gay liberation efforts since that time."
Oral History Collections
ACT UP Oral History Project
"The ACT UP Oral History Project is a collection of interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York."
Archives of Lesbian Oral Testimony
"The Archives of Lesbian Oral Testimony was founded in 2010. We digitize and make available online oral histories and testimony of same-sex and same-gender attracted women, inclusive of Two Spirit, queer, bisexual, and lesbian women, transmen, and others"
NYC Trans Oral History Project
"We are a collective, community archive working to document transgender resistance and resilience in New York City. We work to confront the erasure of trans lives and to record diverse histories of gender as intersecting with race and racism, poverty, dis/ability, aging, housing migration, sexism, and the AIDS crisis." New York Public Library.
Queer Network Oral History Project
"The Queer Newark Oral History Project (QNOHP) records interviews with LGBTQ Newarkers about their lives, makes their stories accessible to academic and community-based researchers, students, and artists; sponsors innovative programming that bridges the community and campus, spreads awareness of oral history methods, and commemorates the community's elders." Rutgers University.
Tretter Transgender Oral History Project
"The Tretter Transgender Oral History Project (TTOHP) is committed to collecting, preserving, and making available oral histories of gender transgression, broadly understood through a trans framework"