Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Denver Library Resources
Chemistry Resources at the Library
Filled with authoritative handbooks and recent research, including the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics; Dictionary of Organic Compounds; Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds; Dictionary of Drugs; Polymers Property Database; and more.
The updated interface for Chemical Abstracts, the world's foremost resource for chemical information. Sources include scholarly journals, chemical properties and spectra, organic reactions, regulatory information, Markush structures from patents, and more. Search by topic, author, chemical identification terms (names, formulas, registry numbers), and chemical structures. Chemical literature dates from 1907 - present.
First-time users must register here before using Scifinder-n.
Use the "Property Search" to find material and property information from technical references. Knovel also provides access to handbooks, case studies, and other technical documents. Their site includes online tools such as a unit converter and interactive equation worksheets that help you find and learn to solve engineering equations.
CRC handbook of chemistry and physics
An authoritative reference including the structure and physical properties of chemical substances and compunds; mathematical formulas; and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units.
Freely Available Web Resources
The links below are all freely available websites:
"ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 58 million structures from hundreds of data sources."
This TOXNET database allows users to search compound identifiers such as chemical name or CAS Registry Number on the NLM ChemIDplus database of over 370,000 chemicals.
You can find chemical data on thousands of chemical compounds.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Physical and chemical property data on well defined chemical species and reactions, including thermochemical, ion energetics, physical, solubility, spectroscopic, and chromatographic data. Compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
NIST Data Gateway
Provides easy access to NIST scientific and technical data. These data cover a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines. The Gateway includes links to selected free online NIST databases as well as to information on NIST databases available for purchase.
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
Science & Engineering Librarian
Chat with the Research Center