Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Government Information and Databases
The US Census Bureau site for population, housing, economic, and geographic information. Includes American Community Survey data.
Child Welfare Information Gateway
Produced by the national Clearinghouse on Child Abuse and Neglect Information and the National Adoption Information Clearinghouse, this gateway site replaces the former Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption database.
ERIC - Education Resource Information Center
This is the public version of the ERIC database, which indexes more than 1.4 million education-related journal articles and other publications, including books, conference papers, policy papers, and research syntheses.
"The govinfo database provides free online access to official Federal Government publications" from the U.S. Government Publishing Office. You can search government publications by date, collection, or other specific fields, or browse by collection, Congressional committee, or date. Includes the Budget of the United States Government from FY 1996-present.
Information for Social Workers
The collection from the National Association for Children of Alcoholics provides access to more than 100,000 abstracts and full-text articles and reports concerned with drugs, alcohol, and tobacco, as well as mental health and health communication.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
NCJRS is a database of abstracts of more than 160,000 publications on criminal justice, including Federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Also includes some full-text of federal government documents. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime.
SAMHSA Guide to Evidence-Based Practices
This site serves as a portal to websites that feature interventions to prevent and/or treat mental health and substance use disorders. You can browse the collection by age group or subject area.
SAMHSA's National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP)
"NREPP is a searchable online registry of more than 230 interventions supporting mental health promotion, substance abuse prevention, and mental health and substance abuse treatment." You can sign up for email updates with summaries of newly posted interventions.