Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Access Resources
Open Access is the term for journals and other scholarly materials that are available for free on the Internet. Keep in mind that there are different levels of open access--some publishers reserve the right to restrict access to new journal content for a certain time (ranging from a few months to a few years after initial publication) before making the articles available on the Web. See Dr Peter Suber's Very Brief Introduction to Open Access for more information.
Provides free access to biomedical research publications.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
There are over 10,000 free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals in this directory, and 6,021 journals are searchable at article level. Over a Million articles are indexed in the service.
Congressional Research Service Reports, Hosted by UNT Libraries
The University of North Texas Library hosts an award-winning site where many CRS reports are browsable by topic and searchable by full text. This is the best starting point.
Congressional Research Service reports are the best way for anyone to quickly get up to speed on major political issues without having to worry about spin — from the same source Congress uses. EveryCRSReport.com includes 8,489 CRS reports. It’s every CRS report that’s available on Congress’s internal website.
Formerly OpenCongress, GovTrack is for researching and tracking legislation before the U.S. Congress..
Journal of the Society for Social Work and Research
Published by the Society for Social Work and Research, this open access journal focuses on "research that advances knowledge of social problems, programs, and policies. Special emphasis is placed on publishing findings from studies of the effectiveness of social and health services, including public policies and practices. JSSWR publishes rigorous empirical research that advances knowledge useful for designing social programs, developing innovative public policies, and improving social work practice."
OpenDOAR - Directory of Open Access Repositories
This directory lists more than 2,000 academic repositories worldwide. You can search for freely-available scholarly articles, data, and dissertations across repositories or browse the holdings of individual institutions.
Public Library of Science
Publishes a suite of peer-reviewed Open Access journals featuring quality research, expert commentary and critical analysis across all areas of science and medicine. Each journal is editorially independent and specialized with regard to both its selection criteria and breadth of content.
PubMed (includes MEDLINE)
The most comprehensive medical database. This resource covers medicine, dentistry, nursing, physical therapy, biomedical research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. This public version provides a Clinical Queries search interface. In addition to MEDLINE, PubMed includes articles that are waiting to be processed for MEDLINE, as well as extra life sciences journals and ebooks not included in MEDLINE.