Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Academic Research: A Guide for International Students: Library Vocabulary

Google Translate

Free Translation Tools

Google Translate: translates text and web pages to and from English and other languages

Yahoo! Babelfish: translates text and web pages to and from English and other languages

Glossary

This glossary is a list of words that you will hear in the library including:

A

Abstract: a paragraph that tells you briefly what an article will talk about

Access: to be able to get to a resource

Account: your personal record through the library

Allusion: to refer to something casually or informally

Analyze: to think critically about the information you find

Annotation: notes that explain more about a book, article or text

Application: a program that helps you do something

Archive: a place that stores resources such as documents, files, or objects

Articles: a piece of non-fiction text that is published in a periodical

Attachment: a computer file linked to an email message

Attribution: giving credit to someone for their work

Audio: something that you listen to; sound

Author: the creator of an information resource

B

Bibliography: a list of information resources used to write a research paper

Boolean Searching: words or symbols used to make a search more efficient

Borrow: to take a resource out of the library

Broad: a search that has a large number of hits; more general

Browse: to look around without knowing exactly what you want

C

Call Number: a code that labels a resource to make it easier to find

Carrel: a small desk area for individual study

Catalog: a comprehensive list of library materials that you search when you are looking for information resources

Check-in: to return a resources you borrowed from the library

Check-out: to take out or borrow a resource from the library

Circulation Desk: where you borrow and return library resources

Citation: a reference to a particular resource

Collection: a group of items that have something in common

Computer lab: a room with computers available for use

Copy: to duplicate an information resource exactly often using a machine

Copyright: the legal rights granted to create and distribute information resources

Course Reserve: resources your teacher puts in the library or you to access temporarily

D

Database: an online search application that allows you to find periodical articles

Dictionary: a reference tool that explains the meanings of words, terms, and topics

Digital: an electronic resource format

Document: a recorded work or file

Download: to transfer a file onto a computer

Due Date: the deadline for returning a resource to the library

E

eBook: a book in digital or electronic form

Email: electronic mail; messages sent through the Internet

Encyclopedia: a reference tool containing brief articles on a variety of topics

Evaluate: to decide if a resource is good or bad

Evidence: information that supports a thesis or argument in a paper

F

Field: an area

Flashdrive: a memory device to save electronic files on

Full-text: the entire contents of an article

G

Google: a popular search engine

H

Help Desk: the place where you can ask librarians questions

Hits: the number of times a search term appears in database or on the web after you do a search

Homepage: the first or default web site when you open your internet browser

HTML: the computer language used to create a website

Hyperlink: a website address that you click on to go to that website

Hypertext: a word or phrase that you click on to go to another website

I

Index: an alphabetical list of topics or subjects that refers you to a page or site

Information: the data being communicated by a resource

Interlibrary Loan: a system of borrowing resources from other libraries

Internet: the network that interconnects computers to networks around the world; it is used to send email or look at web sites.

Interpret: to make sense of information

J

Journal: a periodical that gives you information from research or a study in a particular field

K

Keyword Search: to use a specific term to conduct a search in a database on the web

L

Late Fees/Fine: money you owe the library when you return a book after its due date

Lend: to let someone borrow materials or resources

Librarian: the trained professional who works in the library

Library of Congress Classification System: a system of organizing books originally established by the US Congress in 1800

Link: a word, phrase or picture that connects you to another web site or page when you click on it

Loan Period: the length of time you are allowed to borrow a resources

Log in: to gain access to a computer through a username and password

M

Magazine: a popular interest periodical containing articles on many different topics; not scholarly

Microfiche: a small plastic card that stores text and images from old publications

Microfilm: a small plastic film that stores text and images from old publications

N

Narrow: a search that has a smaller number of hits; more specific

Newspaper: a regularly published printed daily or weekly; not scholarly

O

Off-Campus Access: a way to use the school library website from a computer that is not on campus

Online: on the Internet

Organize: to put in order

Overdue: when a borrowed resource has been returned after the due date

P

Paraphrase: to write the information in your own words

Password: your secret combination of numbers and letters that allows you to log-in

PDF: portable document format; the full-text of an article is often this type of digital file

Peer-Reviewed: a scholarly article that was evaluated when submitted for publication in a journal

Periodicals: publications such as journals, magazines, and newspapers

Phrase Searching: when you search using a group of words that together have their own idiomatic meaning

Plagiarism: when the work and ideas of another writer are used or copied as if it were your own; stealing

Primary Source: an original, firsthand document or record

Print: to put a copy of the digital document or file onto paper

Printer: the machine you use to print out documents and files

Q

Query: a request for information submitted as a search

Quote (direct): to report or copy someone's exact words; requires quotation marks

Quote (indirect): to report or copy what someone has written or said, but not in their exact words; does not require quotation marks

R

Recall: when the library asks you to return a book that you borrowed before its due date

Record: a written account documenting facts or information

Refereed: an article that is peer-reviewed

Reference Desk: where you can ask a librarian for help finding specific information

Reference Materials: resources that have a lot of information, like an encyclopedia, and cannot be borrowed

Reflect: to think about how the information you've read relates to you and your ideas

Relevance: words or ideas that are related

Renew: to get more time borrowing a book from the library from its original due date

Report: a written record usually based on research findings

Research: an investigation of a topic or field of study

Research Question: the question you want to answer with the information you find while doing research

Resource: books, periodicals, files, and other materials found in a library

Review: an evaluation of a book or other kind of resource

S

Save: to keep an electronic copy of a document or file

Scholarly: a journal that publishes academic research and reports on studies conducted

Scope: the range of subjects or topics covered in an research

Search: a systematic way of looking for information

Search Engine: a device on the Internet that helps you search for a key word or phrase

Select: to choose

Slideshow: a group of PowerPoint slides

Source: the material containing information

Stacks: a group of books on shelves

Statistics: information or data in the form of numbers or percentages

Style Manual: a guide to a set of rules for writing a research paper

Subject: what you are researching

Summary: putting an author's words in much shorter form

T

Text: a written form

Thesaurus: a book that tells you words that have similar meanings (synonyms)

Title: the name given to a book or article

Topic: the subject you are talking about in your research

Tutorial: a printed or online instructional tool

U

URL: the location or address of an online resource

Username: the code you use to log in

V

Video: an electronic medium that shows images and usually has sound

Volume: a source of information that is part of a series such as a journal or magazine

W

Wikipedia: an online encyclopedia

World Wide Web: a global network of internet servers

LibrarianProfile

Research Center Desk's picture
Research Center Desk
Contact:
Visit our "Make an Appointment" page to schedule a research consultation with a reference librarian.

You can also get in touch with the Research Center Desk during our operating hours at (303) 871-2905.