Skip to main content

WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services): DU Faculty, PhD Students, and Research Assistants

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is a web-based business data research service from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania.

Description

WRDS provides "business data, providing researchers worldwide with instant access to financial, economic, and marketing data though a uniform, web-based interface."  DU's subsciption includes access to the following:

  • Compustat –  “Provides global “market information on active and inactive publicly held companies.”  Access to Execucomp is also available here.  
  • CRSP (Center for Research in Security Prices) – CRSP “maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for  the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ stock markets.”
  • Dow Jones Averages & Total Return Indexes (Daily and Monthly) – “Covers the Dow Jones Averages and the Dow Jones Total Return Indexes.
  • Eventus – “Performs event studies using data read directly from CRSP stock databases or pre-extracted from any source. The Eventus system includes utility programs to convert calendar dates to CRSP trading day numbers, convert CUSIP identifiers to CRSP permanent identification numbers, and extract event study cumulative or compounded abnormal returns for cross-sectional analysis.”

Alumni members of the community, research colleagues outside the university, and other persons not actively employed or registered with the university do not qualify to access this database.

This database is provided by the Daniels College of Business.

Ask Us!

DU faculty, PhD students, Full-time Masters Research Assistants

Current DU faculty, PhD students, and Full-time Masters Research Assistants for faculty may request their own WRDS accounts using their du.edu email address.  This will then allow access by login ID and Password to the database, as well as disk storage. 

To submit an account request, click on the link below and click on "Register for a WRDS account" once you are at the WRDS page.

University of Denver’s license with WRDS does not allow you to use the data downloaded from this database for any non-academic or commercial endeavor. 

Reference Librarian

Esther Gil's picture
Esther Gil
Subjects: Accounting, Business Information & Analytics, Business Ethics & Legal Studies, Economics, Finance, Hospitality Management, Management, Marketing, Real Estate & Construction Management
Contact:
University Libraries
2150 E. Evans Ave.
Denver, CO 80210