It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This site collects, preserves, and disseminates digital assets of historical or significant interest to the University Libraries and the University of Denver community. The repository contains printed materials, audiovisual content, and ephemera reflecting the history of the University, the history of the Jewish community in Denver and the Rocky Mountain region, and areas of research and academic strength at the University of Denver.
Provides continuous newspaper runs of vital primary source materials essential for the study of U.S. history, African-American history, culture, politics, genealogy, the arts, media, and communications.
When first incorporated, Chicago was a swampy little town populated only by a few hundred people. Soon after, the historical Chicago Tribune (1849-1989) began chronicling the city's challenges, achievements, and evolution into one of America's finest cities.
Provides coverage of many of the most influential ethnic groups in U.S. history; with an emphasis on Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak and Welsh descent. Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Through the digitized pages of The New York Times with Index, readers witness the arrival of immigrants to America's shores and follow the establishment of neighborhoods and businesses. They experience the rise and fall of financial markets and mark the introduction of the mass-produced automobile, television, space travel, and medical innovations. They gain insight into the causes and effects of the Civil War in the 1800s, the "war to end all wars" in the 1900s, and the war on terrorism in this century.
Known for its comprehensive political reporting, first-rate photo essays, Pulitzer Prize-winning editorial writing, and unmatched investigative reporting, the historical Washington Post (1877-1993) is an unparalleled resource for today's budding journalists, political historians, and students of government.
Using Books as Primary Sources
Books that contain letters, diaries, or writing from the time period can be useful primary sources. To find books that contain primary source material on World War II, use the search box below to search the library catalog. In addition to your topic, add terms to indicate primary sources such as memoirs, diaries, letters or correspondence, personal narratives, or oral histories.
Diverse periodicals - which have shaped, and in turn been shaped by, African American culture - will enable new discoveries on lives of African Americans as individuals, as an ethnic group and as Americans. Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
This full color collection of approximately 350,000 pages provides a powerful lens into American and international popular culture from the mid-19th century forward, facilitating academic research in wide-ranging fields such as: women’s studies, fashion, marketing, advertising, material culture, design, and more.
Provides users engaged in research of the 20th century a delightful range of art, stories, articles and advertisements offering valuable insight into Depression Era and World War II America. It offers a rich perspective of the everyday lives of working-class and middle-class America.
An archive of leading women’s interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st. Consumer magazines aimed at a female readership are recognized as critical primary sources through which to interpret multiple aspects of 19th and 20th-century history and culture.
Locating Documents in Databases and Websites
To find additional primary source documents online, try searching NARA or the Library of Congress. You may also try searching through magazines at the Main Library that were published during World War II.
Draws on part of a large collection of magazine and newspaper ads within the Duke library's J. Walter Thompson Company Archives. Includes over 7,000 ads, mainly from U.S. publications dating between 1911 and 1955. Five broad subject categories are presented: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene and World War II.
Grants researchers access to digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and much more.
Includes the following collections: American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971; American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Supplement; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2; Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army; Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Africa, Middle East, 1960-1969; Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Asia, 1960-1969; Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Europe and Latin America, 1960-1969; FBI Confidential Files and Radicalism in the U.S., 1945-1972; Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930; Law and Society since the Civil War: American Legal manuscripts from the Harvard Law School Library; NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files; NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files; NAACP Papers: Special Subjects; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Legal Department Files; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses; New Deal and World War II: President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files and Records of Federal Agencies; Office of Strategic Services (OSS) and State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, 1941-1961; Slavery and the Law; Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records, Part 1; Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantation Records, Part 2; Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records, 1880-1990; Thomas A. Edison Papers; U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, 1914-1945; U.S. Military Intelligence Reports, 1911-1944; Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960–1975; Women at Work during WWII: Rosie the Riveter and the Women’s Army Corps; Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights; Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century: Federal Records; World War II: U.S. Documents on Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees; World War I: Records of the American Expeditionary Forces, and Diplomacy in the World War I Era (1915-1927); Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War (1865-1877); Records of the Children's Bureau, 1912-1969; American Politics in the Early Cold War: Truman and Eisenhower Administrations, 1945-1961; Students for a Democratic Society, Vietnam Veterans Against the War, and the Anti-Vietnam War Movement; Labor Unions in the U.S., 1862-1974: Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO; Margaret Sanger Papers: Smith College Collections and Collected Documents; Robert M. La Follette Papers from the Wisconsin Historical Society; Confidential British Foreign Office Political Correspondence: World War I; Creation of Israel: British Foreign Office Correspondence on Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1948; Progressive Era: Reform, Regulation, and Rights; Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries;
Published hearings are the official record of committee hearings proceedings. Hearings, which are usually open to the public, are held to enable committees to gather opinions and information to help Members make decisions regarding proposed legislation or to help them fulfill their oversight and investigation responsibilities.
These legislative histories provide indexing of bill versions, congressional debate, congressional reports and documents, congressional hearings and committee prints, and other documents. Search by title, subject term, or bibliographic number such as public law or report number. Later years contain links to the full text of reports, debate, and hearings.
Contains all the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.