Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Literature: Secondary Sources
ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
Lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world; unpublished doctoral dissertations are covered for the period 1920–1999.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
Comprehensive and dynamic source for discovering nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives.
Cambridge Companions Online
Features lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods. All are collections of specially commissioned essays, shaped and introduced to appeal to student readers.
Extended access to collections until June 30, 2022. A full-text database containing complete backfiles of over 2,000 core scholarly journals that have been digitized, starting with the first issues and dating from the 1800s to within three to five years ago.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text (MLAIB)
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations.
Periodicals Archive Online
A major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Provides access to the full text of nearly 500 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Literature Criticism Online
Provides access to Gale's Contemporary Literary Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400-1800, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Drama Criticism.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
Provides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works and careers of the world’s most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Digitized to match the look and feel of the acclaimed print originals, including thousands of images.