Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Use this database to access the digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. Full-text searching of millions of pages allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
King James Bible
Arguably the most influential single document for English literary studies. The text of the 'He' version contained here comprises the Old and New Testaments and the Apocrypha. All introductory matter, annotation, calendars, genealogies and tables are included and fully searchable.
Contains the essential collection of published plays from throughout the English-speaking world, covering the history of modern drama from the 1890s to the present day.
Early English Prose Fiction
A balanced and representative survey of fictional prose in English from the period 1500-1700, comprising more than 200 works.
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare
Contains eleven major editions from the First Folio of 1623 to the Cambridge edition of 1863–66, twenty-eight separate contemporary printings of individual plays and poems, selected apocrypha and related works.
Brings together 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700-1780 by writers from the British Isles.
Contains more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose from the late thirteenth century (the likely date of the Shrewsbury Fragments) to the early twentieth.
Contains over 160,000 poems, essentially comprising the complete canon of English poetry of the British Isles from the 8th century to around 1900. Drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources, more than 1,250 poets are represented.
English Poetry, Second Edition
Redefines the English poetic canon for the 21st century, building on the achievement of the original English Poetry collection with the addition of more than 20,000 poems from several new categories.
Collects 250 British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903, stretching from the golden age of Gothic fiction to the Decadent and New Woman novels of the 1890s.
W.B. Yeats Collection
Contains the major work of W.B. Yeats in all genres, including poetry, plays, criticism and fiction, collected in 22 volumes.
Provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the mid twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.
Eighteenth Century Journals
Brings together rare journals printed between ca. 1685 and 1835, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years.
19th Century UK Periodicals
Covers British life in the Victorian age and the events, lifestyles, values and ideas that shaped the world during this milestone period.
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900 (C19)
Identifies the authors of articles within major Victorian periodicals, and provides a bibliography for each contributor. 45 important monthly and quarterly titles are included, covering the period from the beginning of the Westminster Review in 1824 to the end of the century.
A current directory which describes collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.
British Literary Manuscripts Online
Facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials.
The online gateway to the eighteenth century, providing access to tens of thousands of letters from the best critical editions from leading scholarly and university presses around the globe.
Limited to 1 concurrent user.
Literary Manuscripts: Victorian Manuscripts from the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of the New York Public Library
Drawn from the nineteenth century holdings of the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of English and American Literature at the New York Public Library. While the holdings of the Berg extend from 1480 to the present day, its most extensive holdings date from the nineteenth century.
"Perdita" means "lost woman" and the quest of the Perdita Project has been to find early modern women authors who were "lost" because their writing exists only in manuscript form. Thanks to the endeavours of the Perdita Project the valuable work of these "lost" women is being rediscovered.
Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History
Brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century.