Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Industry Overviews
Industry overviews can give you an idea of what is going on in an industry. Some of the things you can do with the information you get from them is determine trends and identify the type of competition in the industry. Below is a list of University Libraries subscription databases that provide profiles and overviews for a wide range of industries. Use your NAICS or SIC code to search in First Research.
Provides thoroughly researched, accurate and current business information with expert analysis about economic, demographic and government data.
Plunkett Research Online
Research portal for important business sectors. Browse through the one called "Sports Industry" to learn about this industry, the business of sports, and sports apparel.
First Research (Mergent)
Provides industry profiles within the wide range of industries that fall under Construction and Real Estate; Public Services, Education, Recreation; Retail, Food and Agriculture; Services; Manufacturing; Technology and Communications; Transportation, Energy, Storage; and Wholesale. Note: Subscription allows five simultaneous users.
Business Source Complete
Contains premium content of peer-reviewed, business related journals. Provides detailed company information for more than 1.1 million of the world's largest public and private companies.
Includes multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage (S&P)
Provides company information and industry surveys on 52 major U.S. industries.
Market Research Databases
Market research reports include a discussion about the relevant industry.
Market research reports from leading research firms, as well as reports from MarketLooks. Subjects covered include consumer & personal products, demographics, engineering & construction, food & beverage, and more.
Grants easy and fast access to the same best-in-class consumer and market intelligence used by business professionals around the world.