Asian Studies: Historical Archival Collections: Multiple Countries & China
The University Libraries own a variety of print and electronic resources to use when researching your topics. The following are a few core tools in Asian Studies to help you begin your research process.
Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the university level.
Includes the following collections: Actes royaux français, 1256-1794 (French Royal Acts, 1256-1794); Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files; African America, Communists, and the National Negro Congress, 1933-1947; Alexander III and the Policy of Russification, 1883-1886; Ambassador Graham Martin and the Saigon Embassy's Back Channel Communication Files, 1963-1975; Amerasia Affair, China, and Postwar Anti-Communist Fervor; America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War Organizations, The Vietnam Veterans Against the War; American Indian Correspondence: Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries' Letters, 1833-1893; American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism; Black Economic Empowerment: The National Negro Business League; Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle; Black Nationalism and the Revolutionary Action Movement: The Papers of Muhammad Ahmad (Max Stanford); Bush Presidency and Development and Debate Over Civil Rights Policy and Legislation; Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China Relations: Records of the U.S. State Department's Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955; Chinese Recorder and the Protestant Missionary Community in China, 1867-1941; City and Business Directories: Alabama, 1837-1929; City and Business Directories: Arkansas, 1871-1929; City and Business Directories: Louisiana, 1805-1929; City and Business Directories: Maryland, 1752-1929; City and Business Directories: Mississippi, 1860-1929; City and Business Directories: North Carolina, 1886-1929; City and Business Directories: Tennessee, 1849-1929; City and Business Directories: Virginia, 1801-1929; City and Business Directories: West Virginia, 1839-1929; Civil War in Words and Deeds; Civil War Service Reports of Union Army Generals; Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990: Reduction of Acid Rain, Urban Air Pollution, and Environmental Policy; Cold War: Voices of Confrontation and Conciliation; Colección Revolución, 1910-1921; Commercial and Trade Relations Between Tsarist Russia, the Soviet Union and the U.S., 1910-1963; Conditions & Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945; Confederate Newspapers: Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama; Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons; County and Regional Histories & Atlases: California; County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Wisconsin; Cuartel General del Sur, 1910-1925; Cyprus Crisis in 1967; Czechoslovakia from Liberation to Communist State, 1945-63: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files; Democracy in Turkey, 1950-1959: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files; Development of Environmental Health Policy: Pope A. Lawrence Papers 1924-1983; Dublin Castle Records 1798-1926; East Germany from Stalinization to the New Economic Policy, 1950-1963; Economy and War in the Third Reich, 1933-1944; Emiliano Zapata, 1901-1919; European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Colonialism and Nationalism in the Dutch East Indies, 1910-1930; European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: German Colonies in Asia and the Pacific: From Colonialism to Japanese Mandates, 1910-1929; Evangelism and the Syria-Lebanon Mission: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1869-1910; Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1835-1910; Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activitist, Political Activist, and Woman; FBI Surveillance of James Forman and SNCC; Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s; Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984; Federal Surveillance of the Partido Independentista Puertorriqueño; Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents; Fight for Racial Justice and the Civil Rights Congress; Final Accountability Rosters of Japanese-American Relocation Centers, 1944-1946; Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944; Foreign Relations Between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944; France Pendant la Guerre 1939-1945: Résistance et Journaux de Vichy (Voices from Wartime France 1939-1945: Clandestine Resistance and Vichy); General George C. Marshall's Mission to China, 1945-1947; German Folklore and Popular Culture: Das Kloster. Scheible; German Foreign Relations and Military Activities in China, 1919-1935; Global Missions and Theology; Greensboro Massacre, 1979: Shootout between the American Nazis and the Communist Workers Party; Guerra Civil Española; Hindu Conspiracy Cases: Activities of the Indian Independence Movement in the U.S., 1908-1933; Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968; Holocaust and the Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution of Nazi War Crimes; Homophile Movement: Papers of Donald Stewart Lucas, 1941-1976; In Response to the AIDS Crisis: Records of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome, 1983-1994; India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department; Indochina, France, and the Viet Minh War, 1945-1954: Records of the U.S. State Department, Part 1: 1945-1949; Intelligence Reports from the National Security Council's Vietnam Information Group, 1967-1975; Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration; International Women's Movement: The Pan Pacific Southeast Asia Women's Association of the USA, 1950-1985; International Women's Periodicals, 1786-1933: Social and Political Issues; James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi; Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan; Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life; Jewish Question: Records from the Berlin Document Center; Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant Collection; JFK's Foreign Affairs and International Crises, 1961-1963; Journaux de la Révolution de 1848 (Newspapers of the French Revolution 1848); King and the People in Morocco, 1950-1959: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Morocco; L'Affaire Dreyfus: Son Influence dans la Création de la France Moderne (The Dreyfus Affair in the Making of Modern France); Liberation Movement in Africa and African America; Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers' Project; Mafia in Florida and Cuba: FBI Surveillance of Meyer Lansky and Santo Trafficante, Jr.; Meriam Report on Indian Administration and the Survey of Conditions of the Indians in the U.S.; Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970; Middle East Online: Iraq, 1914-1974; Military Leaders of World War I: Official and Private Papers of Generaloberst Hans von Seeckt; Minutemen, 1963-1969: Evolution of the Militia Movement in America, Part I; Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia; Narcotic Addiction and Mental Health: The Clinical Papers of Lawrence Kolb Sr; National Security and FBI Surveillance Enemy Aliens; Nazi Bank and Financial Institutions: U.S. Military Government Investigation Reports and Interrogations of Nazi Financiers, 1945-1949; Nazism in Poland: Diary of Governor-General Hans Frank; Nicaragua: Political Instability and U.S. Intervention, 1910-1933; Nineteenth Century English-Language Journals from the Far East; Northern Ireland: A Divided Community, 1921-1972 Cabinet Papers of the Stormont Administration; Nuremburg Laws and Nazi Annulment of German Jewish Nationality; Occupation and Independence: The Austrian Second Republic, 1945-1963; Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880; Papers of the Nixon Administration: The President's Confidential and Subject Special Files, 1969-1974; Patriotes aux Armes! (Patriots to Arms!): The Underground Resistance in France, Belgium, Holland, and Italy, 1939-1945; Persian Gulf States and Yemen, 1950-1959; Personal Justice Denied: Public Hearings of the Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment, 1981; Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin: Beyond the Daughters of Bilitis; Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of Bilitis; Policing the Shanghai International Settlement, 1894-1945; Political Relations and Conflict between Republican China and Imperial Japan, 1930-1939: Records of the U.S. State Department; Political, Economic, and Military Conditions in China: Reports and Correspondence of the U.S. Military Intelligence Division, 1918-1941; Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950; Price Control in the Courts: The U.S. Emergency Court of Appeals, 1941-1961; Psychological Warfare and Propaganda in World War II: Air Dropped and Shelled Leaflets and Periodicals; Quest for Labor Equality in Household Work: National Domestic Workers Union, 1965-1979; Records of the National Council for United States-China Trade 1973-1983; Records of the Persian Gulf War; Republic of New Afrika; Revolution in Honduras and American Business: The Quintessential Banana Republic; Revolution in Mexico, the 1917 Constitution, and Its Aftermath: Records of the U.S. State Department; SAFEHAVEN Reports on Nazi Looting of Occupied Countries and Assets in Neutral Countries; Savings and Loan Crisis: Loss of Public Trust and the Federal Bailout, 1989-1993; Socialism and National Unity in Yugoslavia, 1945-63: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files; Society, Culture & Politics in Canada: Canadiana Pamphlets from McMaster University, 1818-1929; Southern Literary Messenger: Literature of the Old South; Testaments to the Holocaust. Documents and Rare Printed Materials from the Wiener Library, London; Through the Camera Lens: The Moving Picture World and the Silent Cinema Era, 1907-1927; Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China Relations, 1989-1993; U.S. and Iraqi Relations: U.S. Technical Aid, 1950-1958; U.S. Civilian Advisory Effort in Vietnam: U.S. Operations Mission, 1950-1954; U.S. Middle East Peace Policy and America's Role in the Middle East Peace Process, 1989-1993; U.S. Military Advisory Effort in Vietnam: Military Assistance Advisory Group, Vietnam, 1950-1964; U.S. Relations and Policies in Southeast Asia, 1944-1958: Records of the Office of Southeast Asian Affairs; U.S. Relations with the Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1950; Union Label and the Needle Trades: Records of the United Garment Workers of America; War Department and Indian Affairs, 1800-1824; War of 1812: Diplomacy on the High Seas; We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death: Freedom Riders in the South, 1961; Witchcraft in Europe and America; Women Organizing Transnationally: The Committee of Correspondence, 1952-1969; Women, War and Society, 1914-1918; Women's Issues and Their Advocacy Within the White House, 1974-1977; World War I and Revolution in Russia, 1914-1918; World War II, Occupation, and the Civil War in Greece, 1940-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files; Evangelism in Thailand: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Mission, 1840-1910; Evangelism in Philippines: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Mission, 1898-1910; Evangelism in Latin America: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Mission, 1854-1911; Evangelism in Korea: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Mission, 1884 to 1911; Evangelism in Japan: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Mission, 1859 to 1911; Evangelism in Iran: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Mission, 1847-1911; Evangelism in China: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Mission, 1837 to 1911; Russian Civil War and American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia, 1918-20; Saudi Arabia: Records of the US Department of State, 1930-1959; Politics, Social Activism and Community Support: Selected Gay and Lesbian Periodicals and Newsletters; Reconstruction, Jim Crow, and the Enforcement of Federal Law in the South, 1871-1884; Romania: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1963; Poland: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1963; Reporting on the Coal Industry: The Coal Trade Bulletin, 1901-1918; Shanghai Municipal Council: The Municipal Gazette, 1908-1940; Records of the U.S. Information Service in China: Chinese Press Reviews and Summaries, 1944-1950; Records of the U.S. Department of State’s Office of the Republic of China Affairs, Subject Files, 1951-1978; Records of the U.S. Department of State’s Division of Chinese Affairs, 1944-1947; Records of the Far Eastern Commission, 1945-1952; Robert Winslow Gordon and American Folk Music; Methodist Church Archives: Missionary Activities; Palestine and Israel: Records of the US Department of State, 1945-1959; Morocco: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1797-1929; Libya: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1796-1885; Lincoln at the Bar: Extant Case Files from the U.S. District and Circuit Courts, Southern District of Illinois 1855-1861; Pakistan from Crown Rule to Republic: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1949; Mercure de France, 1672-1810; Minutes of the Shanghai Municipal Council, 1854-1943; Papers of Sir Austen Chamberlain; Papers of Neville Chamberlain; Papers of Joseph Chamberlain; Liberia and the U.S.: Nation-Building in Africa, 1918-1935; U.S. Civilian Advisory Effort in Vietnam: U.S. Operations Mission, 1954-1957--Classified & Subject Files of the Executive Office; Sukarno and the Army-PKI Rivalry in the Years of Living Dangerously, 1960-1963; Sunday School Movement and Its Curriculum; World Communism: Pamphlets from McMaster University; Turkey: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1802-1949; U.S. Operations Mission to Saudi Arabia, 1950-1955: Correspondence and Subject Files of the Office of the Director; Turkey, Greece, and the Balkan States: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1944; Grassroots Civil Rights and Social Action: Council for Social Action; Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, Trans-Jordan: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1836-1944; Iraq: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1888-1944; Iran (Persia): Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1883-1959; French Mandate in The Lebanon, Christian-Muslim Relations, and the U.S. Consulate at Beirut; Indian Army and Colonial Warfare on the Frontiers of India, 1914-1920; India-Pakistan Conflict: Records of the U.S. State Department, February 1963-1966; German Anti-Semitic Propaganda, 1909-1941; Greece: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1950-1963; Japan: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1950-1959; Indian Trade in the Southeastern Spanish Borderlands: Papers of Panton, Leslie and Company ;Grassroots Civil Rights & Social Activism: FBI Files on Benjamin J. Davis, Jr.; Evangelism in India: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Mission, 1833-1910; Electing the President: Proceedings of the Republican National Conventions, 1856-1988; Electing the President: Proceedings of the Democratic National Conventions, 1832-1988; Egypt: Records of the U.S. Department of State; FDR, the New Deal, and Race Relations, 1933-1945; Aden: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1880-1906; Afghanistan in 1919: The Third Anglo-Afghan ; Albania: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1963; American Fur Company: America's First Business Monopoly; Allied Propaganda in World War II and the British Political Warfare Executive; Amateur Newspapers from the American Antiquarian Society, Part 2; American Art-Union, 1839-1851: The Rise of American Art Literacy; Amateur Newspapers from the American Antiquarian Society, Part I; European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Political and Economic Consolidation of Portuguese Colonies in Africa, 1910-1929; European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Italian Colonies in North Africa and Aggression in East Africa, 1930-1939; European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: French Colonialism in Africa: From Algeria to Madagascar, 1910-1930; European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: French Colonialism in Africa: From Algeria to Madagascar, 1910-1930; Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement; Rastafari Collection; Liberia and the U.S.: Nation-Building in Africa, 1864-1918; Integration of Alabama Schools and the U.S. Military, 1963; Country Intelligence Reports/State Department's Bureau of Intelligence and Research Reports: USSR; British Mandate in Palestine, Arab-Jewish Relations & the U.S.; British Campaign in Mesopotamia, 1914-1918; City and Business Directories: Florida, 1882-1929; Crisis in the Dominican Republic: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Files, February 1963-1966; China: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1940-1944; Country Intelligence Reports/State Department's Bureau of Intelligence and Research Reports: China; Chinese Maritime Customs Service: The Customs’ Gazette, 1869-1913; Country Intelligence Reports/State Department's Bureau of Intelligence and Research Reports: Korea; Country Intelligence Reports/State Department's Bureau of Intelligence and Research Reports: Japan; Venezuela: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963; Peru: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963; Nicaragua: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963; Panama: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1950-1963; Colombia: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963; Ecuador: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963; Nixon Administration and Foreign Affairs; South Vietnam: Records of the Office of the Defense Attaché, 1973-1975; Laos: Records of the Department of State, 1963-1966; Johnson Administration and Foreign Affairs; Ford Administration and Foreign Affairs; Hungary: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1963; Industrial Mobilization in Britain and the Ministry of Munitions, 1915-1918; Korea: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1963; Bolivia: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963; Argentina: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963; Cambodia: Records of the Department of State, 1960-1963; Chile: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1963; Brazil: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963; FBI File: Watergate; FBI File: Waco/Branch Davidian Compound; FBI File: House Committee on Un-American Activities (HUAC); FBI File: Assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr.; FBI File: Alger Hiss/Whittaker Chambers; Economic Cooperation Administration’s Relief Mission in Post-War China, 1946-1948; National Farm Worker Ministry: Mobilizing Support for Migrant Workers, 1939-1985; SUR; Japanese American Internment: Records of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library Digital Archive; Sources in U.S. History; Introduction to U.S. History: The American Revolution; Introduction to U.S. History: The Civil War; Introduction to U.S. History: Slavery in America; Spiro T. Agnew Case: The Investigative and Legal Documents Archive; The Scopes Case Archive
Offers scholars and academics the primary sources to advance their research within the humanities and social sciences.
Includes the following collections: America in records from colonial missionaries, 1635-1928; American prisoners of war, 1812-1815; American records in the House of Lords archive, 1621-1917; The American Revolution from a British Perspective, 1763-1783; American slave trade records and other papers of the Tarleton family, 1678-1838; Antigua, slavery and emancipation in the records of a sugar plantation, 1689-1907; Asia at war, World War 2 as described by USPG missionaries, 1914-1946; The atheist politician and his anti-war daughter: the Bradlaughs, 1833-1948; Australia in records from colonial missionaries, 1808-1967; BBC handbooks, annual reports and accounts, 1927-2002; BBC Listener Research Department reports, 1937-c.1950; 'Black Schools' in Canada, America and the Bahamas, 1645-1900; Bolton's mills, how the spinning mule changed the textile industry, 1672-1929; Bristol shipping records: imports and exports, 1770-1917; British diplomacy with America and Ireland, an Ambassador's letters, 1909-1962; British Labour Party papers, 1968-1994; British officers' diaries from World War 1, 1914-1919; British Parliamentary History, 1102-1803; British Poor Schools in the Nineteenth Century, 1812-1901; The British Union of Fascists : newspapers and secret files, 1933-1951; British women trade unionists on strike at Bryant & May, 1888; Canada in records from colonial missionaries, 1722-1952; Canada, America & the West Indies imports and exports to the UK, 1678-1825; Canada, between the US and Empire, 1883-1904: in the papers of the Governor-General; Caribbean colonial statistics from the British Empire, 1824-1950; The Church of England and social change in Manchester, 1635-1928; Colonial Africa in official statistics, 1821-1953; Colonial missionaries' papers from America and the West Indies, 1701-1870; Colonial women missionaries of the Committee for Women's Work, 1861-1967; Conscientious Objection during the World War 1; Gambia under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1881-1966; Ghana and Sierra Leone in colonial and missionary records, 1700-1850; Ghana and Togo under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1843-1957; Ghana in Records from colonial missionaries, 1886-1951; Hitler's Army, Nazi Germany at war and the Nuremburg trials, 1925-1956; Independent Labour Party Records, 1893-1960; India, business and control 1806 to 1814: in the records of the Governor-General; India, uprising and reform 1879 to 1910: in the records of the Governor-General; Indian and Sri Lankan records from colonial missionaries, 1770-1931; Indian Communists and Trade Unionists on Trial: The Meerut Conspiracy, 1929-1933; Kenya under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1907-1964; Life under Nazi rule, reports by anti-fascists in occupied Europe, 1933-1945; Liverpool shipping records: imports and exports, 1820-1900; Malawi under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1907-1967; Medical essays read to the Royal Society in Scotland, 1751-1970; The Middle East, its division into countries and the creation of Israel, 1879-1919; Military tactics discussed in letters to and from military leaders, 1881-1935; New Zealand & Polynesian records from colonial missionaries, 1838-1958; Nigeria and Cameroon under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1887-1962; Scottish nationalist leaflets, 1844-1973; Scottish trade with Africa and the West Indies in the early 18th century, 1694-1709; Scottish women's suffrage movement, 1902-1933; Sierra Leone under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1893-1961; Slave trade records from Liverpool, 1754-1792; Slave trading records from William Davenport & Co., 1745-1797; Slavery in Jamaica, records from a family of slave owners, 1686-1860; Slavery: supporters and abolitionists, 1675-1865; South Africa in records from colonial missionaries, 1819-1900; South Africa under Apartheid, reports and research by a journalist, 1949-1995; South American missionaries' records, 1844-1919; Taking India, how the military established Company rule, 1752-1774; Tanzania and Malawi in records from colonial missionaries, 1857-1965; Trade and Commerce in Liverpool to 1900; Trade unionist, electoral reformist and politican: George Howell, 1833-1910; Uganda under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1903-1961; Walt Whitman and his fellowship of supporters in Bolton, 1891-1913; Wesleyan and Primitive Methodist periodicals, 1744-1960; The West Indies in Records from colonial missionaries, 1704-1950; The West Indies: slavery, plantations and trade, 1759-1832; World War 1 and the Spanish Civil War: as reported by an Ambassador, 1863-1939; Zimbabwe under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1897-1980
The Economist Intelligence Unit has published Country Reports since 1952, covering almost 200 countries. Each report presents detailed statistics alongside expert commentary and forecasting from the EIU’s analysts. This database presents the historical reports up to 1995, with all data from the statistical tables fully captured and downloadable in spreadsheet form. It is a unique archive of analysis and explanation of political, economic and commercial developments, together with historical statistical data.
"The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world."
Grants researchers access to digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and much more.
Includes the following collections: American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971; American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Supplement; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2; Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army; Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Africa, Middle East, 1960-1969; Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Asia, 1960-1969; Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Europe and Latin America, 1960-1969; FBI Confidential Files and Radicalism in the U.S., 1945-1972; Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930; Law and Society since the Civil War: American Legal manuscripts from the Harvard Law School Library; NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files; NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files; NAACP Papers: Special Subjects; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Legal Department Files; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses; New Deal and World War II: President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files and Records of Federal Agencies; Office of Strategic Services (OSS) and State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, 1941-1961; Slavery and the Law; Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records, Part 1; Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantation Records, Part 2; Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records, 1880-1990; Thomas A. Edison Papers; U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, 1914-1945; U.S. Military Intelligence Reports, 1911-1944; Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960–1975; Women at Work during WWII: Rosie the Riveter and the Women’s Army Corps; Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights; Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century: Federal Records; World War II: U.S. Documents on Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees; World War I: Records of the American Expeditionary Forces, and Diplomacy in the World War I Era (1915-1927); Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War (1865-1877); Records of the Children's Bureau, 1912-1969; American Politics in the Early Cold War: Truman and Eisenhower Administrations, 1945-1961; Students for a Democratic Society, Vietnam Veterans Against the War, and the Anti-Vietnam War Movement; Labor Unions in the U.S., 1862-1974: Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO; Margaret Sanger Papers: Smith College Collections and Collected Documents; Robert M. La Follette Papers from the Wisconsin Historical Society; Confidential British Foreign Office Political Correspondence: World War I; Creation of Israel: British Foreign Office Correspondence on Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1948; Progressive Era: Reform, Regulation, and Rights; Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries; Nazi Looted Art and Assets: Records on the Post-World War II Restitution Process, 1942-1998
In the Nineteenth Century, Christian missionaries directed their attention to unexplored regions, greatly expanding their endeavors. Colonialism brought increased knowledge of Africa and Asia, and the European and American churches extended their work into these areas.
This collection provides researchers with six rare English-language journals, five of which were founded by Western missionaries in the Far East in the 19th century, covering a wide range of topics such as East-West communication, Christianity in China and other parts of Asia, and China's political, economic, and cultural landscape.
Explore an extensive range of archival material connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries.
Allows scholars and researchers the opportunity to examine developments in China and to assess US, Soviet, British, European and Commonwealth relations with China (including Hong Kong and Taiwan), from 1919-1980.
Opens the door to five thousand years of Chinese civilization including history, geography, politics, economics, science, technology, philosophy, the arts and so much more. Note: To begin using this database, first download the Client Program Software: 用戶端程式 (英文界面) Client Program (with English user interface)
The files of the Office of the Chinese Affairs tell the story of a U.S. policy toward China from 1945 through 1955 that began in confusion, developed in misperception, continued in hostility, and ended in success that had little to do with the conduct of U.S. diplomacy.
In 1867, in an effort to keep their colleagues informed about their activities, the Protestant missionaries began the Missionary Recorder at the Methodist Press in Foochow. The Missionary Recorder lasted only a year, but the work had begun; in May 1868 the Chinese Recorder and Missionary Journal was started, also at the Methodist Press in Foochow, by the Rev. S. L. Baldwin (American Methodist Episcopal Mission). The Rev. Justus Doolittle (American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions) joined Baldwin as coeditor in June 1869, and the publication continued through the end of May 1872 when it ceased.
Germany was a relative latecomer to the scramble for colonies across the globe. But a German colony in China was envisioned as a two-fold enterprise: to support a naval presence and that colonies were ideal to support the economy in the mother country.
The mission of General George C. Marshall to prevent the renewal of the Chinese civil war and, as a consequence, prevent the growth of Soviet influence in both Manchuria and China proper must be viewed in the context of the emerging Cold War as well as the context of American perceptions of China that go back, at least, to the days of John Hay and the Open Door.
This Archives Unbound publication reproduces the six principal MID files relating exclusively to China for the period 1918 to 1941 (general conditions, political conditions, economic conditions, army, navy, and aeronautics); it does not reproduce all MID files relevant to China. The Military Intelligence Division filed correspondence in accordance with the "record card system," utilized widely in the late 19th and early 20th century by the War Department.
The Nationalist-Communist turmoil in China provided an easy opportunity for Japan to further its goals in the 1930s. Japan saw Manchuria as a limitless supply of raw materials, a market for her manufactured goods (now excluded from many Western countries by Depression era tariffs), and as a protective buffer state against the Soviet Union in Siberia.
The National Council for United States-China Trade (NCUSCT) was formed in 1973 to promote and facilitate trade between the United States and the People's Republic of China. Although trade between the two countries had resumed on June 10, 1971, after a 22 year hiatus, the impetus for a trade council came from President Nixon's visit to China in February 1972.