Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Country Information from U.S. Dept. of State
Countries and Their Cultures by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2001-05-23
A team of anthropologists and social scientists have taken a close look at more than 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture -- every bit as much as geographic borders -- defines and separates the nations of the world. Using a standard entry format for easy comparison, each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations are surveyed -- from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts. Lavishly illustrated with more than 1,000 photographs and more than 200 maps.
Country Information Databases
EIU Country Commerce
Provides reports of operating conditions, commercial laws, and business regulations of approximately 60 countries worldwide.
Political Handbook of the World
Combines comprehensive country and intergovernmental organization profiles from the print edition with a convenient, user-friendly database that organizes the content with a number of browses.
Political Risk Yearbook
Provides background information, including geography, history, international relationships and economic conditions as well as government policies that can affect business conditions of a country and risk factors for turmoil for over 100 countries.
Includes reliable information on all 194 countries in the world plus states and dependencies, covering key historical events, population, and more.
World Bank: Documents & Reports
Various full-text reports from the World Bank.
Google and Google Scholar Research
Google is an excellent tool for discovering primary documents from the U.S. government, international organizations, and foreign governments. Google scholar searches the full text of many peer-reviewed publications, searching capabilities that go beyond many of the capabilities of our library databases.
International Financial Statistics
Covers the monthly publication International Financial Statistics as well as data found in the annual publication International Financial Statistics Yearbook.
Compare countries on years of school completed; literacy rate; public spending on education; university education.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Provides fast and easy access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.
Features data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, including market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Note: For University of Denver faculty, students and staff only. Users of the Statista websites and subpages are granted a nonexclusive, non-transferable, limited right to access and use for research purposes the Online Service and Materials made available. Commercial use is strictly prohibited. No library walk-ins are allowed to use this database.
Features combined sources of data from various UN bodies. This is the first place to go for all UN data. Includes data from UNESCO, ILO, FAO, WHO, ITU, UNHCR, Human Development Report, Demographic Statistics, World Population Prospects, and Commodity Trade Statistics.
World Development Indicators
Features time series data on demographics, the economy, education, and the environment, for more than 200 countries from 1960-present. Data can be downloaded and manipulated.
World Fact Book
Covers 264 nations, dependent areas and other entities, and provides statistical details ranging from total area to infant mortality rates integrated with factual information such as an overview of the economy.